Gary’s Got the Jokes

When I visited Gary this afternoon, he showed up wearing latex examination gloves, a new and rather curious addition to his uniform, so I asked him what was up.

He looked at me very seriously and informed me he had been ordered to help search new inmates, hunt for contraband, strip search…he snapped the wrist of one of the gloves for dramatic effect. He said he had been at it all morning. (I’ll spare you the details he gave me of what this job entailed.)

I was stunned. “What?! Why on earth are you doing that?”

He looked at me solemnly and said, “Sweetheart, I’m in jail. I have to do what they tell me to do.”

Horrified, I started looking around for a guard, announcing that I would put an end to this nonsense right now…when I saw a sneaky half-grin flicker across Gary’s face.

“I always wear these when I’m working in the laundry room,” he finally admitted. “I don’t like touching other guys’ underwear.” Then he had himself a good laugh for putting me on. “You should have seen your face!”

Har-har. Wiseguy.

I’ll have the last laugh. Like a good, devoted, loving girlfriend, tonight I started downloading songs to make a CD to keep in the car for the day I finally pick him up.

The first song? Johnny Cash’s I Fought the Law…and the Law Won.”

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in Gary, humor, jokes. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Gary’s Got the Jokes

  1. macocha says:

    He got you! how funny! Almost time for him to come home..~happy dance~

  2. lyndaspix says:

    That is just too dang funny!! Hahahah, thanks for the morning smiles! I’m so happy the time for him to come home is almost here! We’ve hit the right month finally!! Hooray!

  3. Dijea says:

    HAHA! Seriously that guys got a great sense of humor.

  4. Don’t forget the “Authority Song” by John Mellencamp! 🙂Gary-1Smirking Cat-0

  5. mean stepmom says:

    haha! he gotcha! at least he has maintained his sense of humor in all this.

  6. phairhead says:

    Check out The Clash’s version of “I Fought the Law.”

  7. Blueydmuse says:

    That is so something my hubby would do… 🙂

  8. *Marie* says:

    lol That’s pretty good! You’ll have to let us know how the “payback” goes.

  9. Smirking Cat says:

    He’ll think it’s funny. I finished the CD yesterday and made “I Fought the Law” the very first song!

  10. Samantha says:

    you are so clever!

  11. Stephanie says:

    That is hilarious. I’m so glad he’s been able to keep his sense of humor throughout this ordeal.

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

