Two Weeks

For the first time this hockey season, I had a free moment to find the Lightning game on TV last night. Keeping with my usual traditions, I wrestled my Lightning blanket back from the cats, curled up in the corner of the couch, and was soon joined by my faithful furry sidekick Tweetie, who sprawled on my lap and refused to accept that my lap is not a peaceful place to be during a hockey game. I did my best not to send him flying as I yelled, cheered, and coached.

One thing was missing. I am usually curled up against Gary’s side when I watch hockey games, with his arm wrapped around me, and he makes jokes about my team, especially Marty St. Louis, my favorite player, just to see if he can get me going. It’s not unusual for me to doze off in his arms, then deny I was sleeping when he gently nudges me and tells me I should head to bed.

Two more weeks, exactly. Two more weeks until he finally comes home, and we can start over with our lives.

I’m not the only one excited about that. Last time I talked with the kids, they sounded happier than they have for a long time, and they are counting down the days too. It was wonderful to hear them laugh and joke and play, and to hear the excitement in their voices about seeing their daddy soon.

As for the game last night? Keeping with yet another tradition, the Lightning lost, 4-3, to the New Jersey Devils.

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in family, Gary, hockey, kids, Tampa Bay Lightning. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Two Weeks

  1. Dijea says:

    I’m so happy that you will have your honey home soon.

  2. furiousBall says:

    glad your man will be home soon, sorry for the lightnings’ continued woes

  3. Crys says:

    Yay! I’m excited for you!

  4. Can you believe it? Only two weeks? After all the crap and drama and total BS you have both been thru, you are down to 2 weeks!!! WOO HOO! I caught the tail end of the game last night… I still want Smitty back! LOL 🙂

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

