Choice

As soon as I tell someone that I work in hospice, I get a stricken look and then the predictable question: “Isn’t that depressing?”

Emotional sometimes, yes. Celebratory and empowering, yes. Depressing, no.

There’s a sign at work that says “How you die is not your choice; but how you live is.” We have it so backward, as a society, so much obsession on death, trying to avoid death and aging as if looking young will spare us from the grave. And so litte focus on what we are learning each day we are alive, what we are teaching, what we can enjoy from everyday moments, what fingerprints we are leaving for someone after us.

I credit working here for a lot of my shift in focus and thinking about my life and about the actions of others. Life is too short to agonize over why someone else chooses the path they do. I can’t control the willingness of others to be either a positive or negative impact on life. I own my life, and it is a strong, beautiful feeling to let go of the burden of poor choices that belong to someone else.

“The last of the human freedoms is to choose one’s attitude in any given set of circumstances.” Victor E. Frankl

“It is our choices that show what we truly are, far more than our abilities.”Joanne Kathleen Rowling

“Until a person can say deeply and honestly, ‘I am what I am today because of the choices I made yesterday,’ that person cannot say, ‘I choose otherwise.’ Stephen R. Covey

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in hospice, life, living. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Choice

  1. furiousBall says:

    LOVE Viktor Frankl, but I love your attitude and dedication to taking care of these folks even more.

  2. Crys says:

    “Life is too short to agonize over why someone else chooses the path they do.”So very WELL SAID! The attitude and perception that you see life through makes a huge difference. And although I am guilty of wanting to avoid wrinkles and gray hair – I do agree that people focus way too much on the end of life instead of enjoying living it.

  3. macocha says:

    I for one appreciate what you do in working for hospice. My aunt had terminal cancer and had hospice in her home. They were amazing! She was a nurse and the ones she worked with stayed with her as well – but hospice is an amazing field. Thank you!

  4. Heather says:

    I didn’t know you worked in hospice! So cool.My granddaddy was able to stay home the last three weeks of his life through hospice; my family could not be more grateful. I’m sure this isn’t the most amazing example of how hospice is wonderful, but for our family it was the most important example.

  5. Smirking Cat says:

    I can’t take much credit for actually taking care of patients. I am not a nurse, and believe me, you wouldn’t want to be on the receiving end of a needle from my clumsy hands! My job is a little bit of everything else, helping with care plans, talking with patients, administrative work for the doctors, things like that. I’ve never worked with a more dedicated group of people.

  6. macocha says:

    Sometimes those behind the scenes don’t get the credit they deserve; yet, they are just as responsible for the care the patient gets. So even if you do get the credit from your staff – I still feel correct in sending my appreciation and thanks to you as being very much deserved! (did that make sense..lol)

  7. KiKi says:

    What an admirable job. Challenging I bet, and so much honor in it. Hats off to you.

  8. phairhead says:

    I get the same thing working in the HIV community. solidarity sister!

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

