You’re Fired!

Furiousball gave me the heads up last night about this story, the Tampa Bay Lightning firing head coach Barry Melrose after just 16 games. Rick Tocchet, the associate coach, will take over as interim coach until they find the next scapegoat to hire-n-fire as the Lightning continue their sucking streak.

The Lightning players have quite a comfy gig: get paid a truckload of cash to perform heinously, then someone else gets fired for their mediocrity! Where do I sign up for a deal like this, and does it matter that I can’t ice skate? Can I fake it ’til I make it? I think that’s what some of the players are doing anyway, so what’s one more?

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in Barry Melrose, Tampa Bay Lightning. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to You’re Fired!

  1. furiousBall says:

    can’t believe they pulled the plug this quickly

  2. Smirking Cat says:

    I have no idea if he was a good coach or not, but c’mon, he had crap to work with. It takes time to see changes when the team is as awful as the Lightning.

  3. Blueydmuse says:

    I haven’t followed hockey in a long time (my ex is a big fan) but who the heck would hire Barry Melrose as a coach in the first place??? He always seemed so smarmy to me…

  4. golly, I see Tocchet or whatever the hell his name is made a huge difference in how those schmucks played on Sunday…..NOT. Even Smitty played like dog doo in the shootout. I dont know if he just lost his will to live by then or what but damn! Ooooh yes and they are now paying THREE head coaches. I think you should go in there and coach the team. Why not???? If you decide to tackle the job, can I be the remote assistant goaltending coach? I just want to chat with Smitty here and there. 🙂 hehe

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

