Three Days…

Three more days, then it will be the day to keep the cell phone close by and wait for Gary to finally call and say it’s time to come pick him up. This past weekend I cleaned, vacuumed, scrubbed, and laundered every square inch of the house, wondering what he will think of the house, picturing him in each room with me, the sound of his voice mixing with the laughter of the kids.

So much changes this week. I am ready for it, aching for it.

After my day of manual labor, I treated myself to a deep conditioner for my hair; a long, hot shower; and then a manicure and pedicure, and stretched out on the sofa with a magazine. I felt relaxed and happy, excited and hopeful.

So many people, both here in the blogosphere and in person, have offered words of kindness and support, and I’ve been beyond touched by it, grateful and hoping I can extend comfort to someone else in a similiar manner. I know Gary and I have a lot of work to do after he gets home, and it won’t be hearts and flowers and no worries. But it will be: recognizing that we work better together than we do apart; that the heartache of this time apart has cemented our priorities; and that at the end of each day, no matter what has happened, we have a lot, more than most, if we have each other.

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in Gary, homecoming, kids, love. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Three Days…

  1. Amy says:

    Congratulations! I know you just can’t hardly wait.It’s been a long wait for you and I’m glad it’s almost over.

  2. i wish you guys the very best luck and am so happy for you!! it will be wonderful…

  3. And at the end of the day…having each other to work through it all is what it’s all about! I’m so happy that your wait is nearing its end.

  4. macocha says:

    yippee…3 more days! good luck!

  5. Dijea says:

    w00t! I would be so wired waiting. I’m glad its almost over!

  6. Sungold says:

    Oh, this is such good news. I know you’re right, your life won’t magically become worry free. I wish you a few honeymoon days anyway. 🙂

  7. phairhead says:

    hurray! so exciting

  8. Blueydmuse says:

    You must be about ready to climb out of your skin… I hope these days go by quickly for you and that you are able to have a little “honeymoon” when he gets home.

  9. Crys says:

    Woo Hoo!!! Down to counting on one hand! It sounds like you’ve been pretty busy with cleaning. I’m glad that you were able to find sometime for yourself also to relax and pamper.

  10. Stephanie says:

    I can’t wait to hear all about it… I mean, mostly about it… I mean, just the high-level details. 🙂I’m excited that you’re excited. I’m sure it will be a fabulous homecoming.

  11. wow…3 days!!! Can you believe it when you say it out loud? Does it seem surreal? My hat goes off to you for all the awful stuff you have had to endure this year. Lesser folks would have caved, my friend. 🙂 I hope this 3 days goes by really fast and you guys are together again in the blink of an eye! And crikey, ask Gary to please do something about the friggin Bolts, would ya??? *wink*

  12. kelly says:

    I am so happy for you and for Gary. I’m sure he is need of some major pampering too! Just enjoy!

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

