Guess Who’s Pregnant?

Heh heh, NOT me…just thought it would be amusing to give everyone a bit of a jolt this morning.

Nope, it’s my oldest brother, who just found out his girlfriend is pregnant. They are excited about it, but no one is more elated than my mother, who believes half the state of Texas should be populated with grandbabies for her to spoil, the more the merrier, and no, I’ve been informed that my cats don’t really count.

My oldest brother and I have always had a very volatile, explosive relationship, talking calmly one minute and then suddenly toe-to-toe, in each other’s face, the next, and I have carefully analyzed the situation to draw this painstaking conclusion: it’s all his fault!

How strange to ponder: the same boy who chased me around the backyard with dog shit on the end of a stick, the same boy who screamed at me to turn down “Pour Some Sugar On Me” during my Def Leppard infatuation, the same boy who made it nearly impossible to date in high school because he’d glance disdainfully at my latest love interest and announce loudly and contemptuously, “I don’t like this guy. You can do better than him“, the same boy who impatiently explained to me again that basketball is not a sport in which we tackle when I attempted to play “no-blood-no-foul” on the girls’ middle school team…this same boy is now going to be a dad?

He’s infuriating and maddening. He’s stubborn and hard-headed. He’s always right, he’s arrogant, he’s obnoxious.

He’s also going to make a great, albeit non-traditional, father, and I’m already chuckling at who is going to have it rougher: him or the new daughter or son who comes along to wrap him around a tiny, baby-sized finger.

All I know for sure is, I have photographic evidence to embarrass the hell out of my brother when their son or daughter is old enough to point at pictures, laugh hysterically, and howl, “Is that YOU, Dad?” when Aunt Smirking Cat comes ’round.

*Image courtesy of HealthinAction.org*

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in baby, brothers, kids, pregnant. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Guess Who’s Pregnant?

  1. i totally know how you feel… 2 yrs ago when my bro. and his wife got pregnet i was all WHAT!!! hard to imagine the little annoyin’ brother bein’ a good dad, hell even havin’ kids to their name!…. but lemmie tell ya, my bro. is like the greatest dad ever, and i know yours will be too! congrats!!oh yea… in your fam does the people with kids get spoiled, mines like that! and im with you, i so try to argue that my cats are SO kids too! it does not fly!!

  2. Awesome!!! Babies are fun. It’s especially fun knowing that he will now have that child that everyone prophesized: “I hope that you have one just like you some day!”And you can just sit back and watch. πŸ™‚

  3. Crys says:

    My mom always said that she got her sister for a daughter when my sister was born. So maybe … he’ll get his sister for a daughter?!? Huh?!? Huh?!? That’s amusing. Congrats to your brother and his girlfriend!

  4. Heather says:

    I was gonna say, if you are pregnant, that’s gotta be some kind of magic pregnancy test you got there that can give you results only days afterward! Oh, and amazing luck at timing!

  5. awww congrats Auntie Smirking Cat…does this mean you will be coming to Texas to visit???? πŸ˜‰

  6. mean stepmom says:

    I often tell my stepkids, “One day I hope you have a kid just like YOU.” Maybe your brother will have the same pleasure πŸ™‚

  7. kimberlina says:

    *laugh*my mouth almost dropped when i read the title, you clever, clever girl. congrats to your brother, btw! πŸ˜€and chasing you w/ dog shit on the end of a stick? good lord! i’m surprised he still has all his finger and toes.

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

