A Chat with 2008

So, year 2008, let’s have a chat. To be perfectly honest, I’m not entirely certain that I like you, but one thing we can say for sure, it was a hell of a year, wasn’t it?

I want to hate you. I really do. I had more pain, drama, and stress to deal with this year than I ever want to see again. Yet in a maddening “this is for your own good” way, I also look back now and see where I grew, I learned, I reached deep into myself and found things I didn’t know were there…and would I have been able to without everything that happened this year? I sincerely doubt it.

I won’t say I’m grateful for the shit you threw my way this year, 2008. But I have to say thank you. Testing my will, testing my love, testing my strength, solidified my beliefs and heart and drive.

I do have one request before you go, 2008. How ’bout easing up on me when your kin 2009 struts in here in a few days? I’d appreciate that more than you can imagine.

But if you and 2009 feel the need to keep testing me, to keep applying pressure, to keep seeing what I am made of…I am also prepared for one hell of a fight. Bring it on.

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in 2008, 2009, New Year, year in reflection. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Chat with 2008

  1. Pam says:

    Yeah, 2008 sucked rocks for me too. But your perspective is so true. After 2008, we are better prepared for the next round of insanity, if there should be one. I’m not trying to tempt fate or anything, just sayin’.

  2. furiousBall says:

    2008 sucked balls. marriage blew up, kids moved away from me, father died. yeah.

  3. Just Me :) says:

    Most all of us can say that 2008 sucked any variety of things! But You’re right! We are STILL here and if we can fight through all that we have then we have proven to ourselves that we have the strength to keep fighting if that is what is in store for us! Way to have a pit-bull attitude! You keep right on truckin!

  4. macocha says:

    Shit – I may have to do a bye you stupid 2008 year post. thanks for the idea 🙂 I am hoping we all have great future years and can put 08 and prior behind us.

  5. Dijea says:

    Its unanimous! 2008 Sucked.

  6. you’ve got a set on you, girl… I gotta say you are the only person I know (sorta? can I say “know” or should I say “blog know”?? ahh fuck it..) that would actually say ‘thank you’ and ‘bring it on’ to the year you just had. Kudos. I hope we ALL have a happy, healthy and peaceful 2009!

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

