All You Ever Wanted to Know about "Pour Some Sugar On Me"

Yep, that is Joe Elliott again, the lead singer of Def Leppard, here to accompany my compilation of all the information you ever wanted to know about the song “Pour Some Sugar On Me” but were afraid to ask because you are embarrassed to admit publicly that you ever liked this particular song.

Pride, schmide! I boldly wore my Def Leppard t-shirt until it fell off of my body, and I ‘fess up to my high school crush on Joe Elliott and the multitude of Def Leppard posters that wall-papered my bedroom for years.

When the band was wrapping up the 1987 album Hysteria, producer Mutt Lange pondered the fact that the album lacked a song that would appeal to the hard rock fans who bought Pyromania. According to Wikipedia, the song “came to him” during a 5-minute coffee break. I’ve never been inspired to musical greatness whilst sipping my morning tea, but I suppose I just wasn’t applying myself.

“Pour Some Sugar On Me” reached the Top 20 in the U.K., but by the spring of 1988, the album had not sold enough copies to cover production costs. What was a long-haired pack of British boys to do? Fret not! The band edited concert footage into a promo clip for “Pour Some Sugar On Me” and released it in the U.S.

The song sent Hysteria sales skyrocketing and the album reached #1, and the video for “Pour Some Sugar On Me” hung out at #1 on the video request show Dial MTV for 68 days. MTV ranked this song #1 in the Top 100 Videos of All Time in 1991, and VH1 ranked the song as #2 in its “100 Greatest Songs of the 80’s” in 2006.

Oh, and Joe Elliott’s birthday is August 1st, in case you were curious. He met his wife Kristine while she was working in wardrobe for Def Leppard. Does that mean she is responsible for shredding his jeans and cutting the sleeves off of his t-shirts?

You know you want to watch the video now:

“Pour Some Sugar On Me” video

Once you have finished paying homage to the music video, get ye over to eBay and make your bid on this Pour Some Sugar On Me t-shirt:
If I haven’t won it already, that is.

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in 80's, Def Leppard, Hysteria, Joe Elliott, Pour Some Sugar On Me. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to All You Ever Wanted to Know about "Pour Some Sugar On Me"

  1. Heather says:

    OMG!LOL!(I figure to admit I love Def Leppard takes me right make to me teen years. Which would require me to talk like a teen. But since we’re blogging, I’ll pick up the teen lingo of today.)Despite loving the song, my most vivid memories are being so embarrassed in class because the boys had suddenly gotten permission to use such a great euphemism for sex. I mean, how icky is it when I guy strides up next to you and says, “sticky sweeeeeeet! From my head to my feet, yeah!”

  2. Crys says:

    You KNOW I just rocked that video on my computer. twice. And I’m playing that song at my wedding reception … no question about it. 🙂

  3. Smirking Cat says:

    Pouring sugar on someone would really be kind of futile, since it won’t stick like chocolate syrup and would just be kind of like sand in its annoying ability to stay in your shoes no matter how hard you shake them out. Heather, almost all teenage boys are walking incarnations of Beavis and Butthead when it comes to sex!

  4. LOVE that song!!! I still sing it when it comes on the radio! 😉

  5. Heather says:

    LOL!!!!!!!(seriously, I am laughing out loud!)

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

