It’s Not Hockey, But…

My family, die-hard Pittsburgh Steelers fans that they are, will likely disown me for admitting that I rooted for the Arizona Cardinals in the Super Bowl last night, but I couldn’t help it. I like the underdog, and the Cardinals came so close to bouncing back and winning.

Football is not my sport of choice, so Gary had to offer a quick Football 101 crash course in response to my million questions, such as “Why doesn’t he just check him with his stick?” Ah, the hockey mind does not willingly shift to another sport!

Despite the glaring lack of ice, sticks, skates, or goalies, I still found myself getting into the game and yelling at the TV just like a good old-fashioned hockey game. Hmmm, I may acquire a taste for this thing called football. As long as there are no hockey games on, of course.

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in Arizona Cardinals, football, Pittsburgh Steelers, Super Bowl. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to It’s Not Hockey, But…

  1. Dijea says:

    I’m an NFC girl. Always and Forever and due to my family’s love of the Dallas Cowboys I could never ever root for the Steelers.

  2. Smirking Cat says:

    My first-ever hockey game was in Pittsburgh, so I feel loyal to Pittsburgh, even though I really don’t follow football. I can’t see the Steelers without thinking of Iron City beer…blech.

  3. I live in AZ. Imagine our excitement last night when the Cardinals came from behind and almost won. Let me just say, though, that I hope they get rid of Warner. I’ve never seen such a terrible performance from a quarterback in the Super Bowl.

  4. livin’ down here in GA i have NEVER been to or even watched a hockey game on TV (GASP) i know, sad isn’t it! But i do looove me some football!

  5. Smirking Cat says:

    Randi! You lost soul! Come on over and let’s watch some hockey 🙂Never Mom, I got so excited when the Cardinals got that touchdown that put them in the lead! I don’t watch football enough to criticize their quarterback, but I was so disappointed they lost.

  6. Crys says:

    I learned about hockey from my roommates relating it to football. I love both now!

  7. Syn says:

    LOL, root for the underdog!I didn’t watch the Super Bowl other than a quick second to check the score at one point. The only football games I’m concerned with are the Michigan vs. Ohio Buckeyes football games. It’s not that I love football (I don’t) but Michigan is my home state and I live in Ohio now (all my family still lives in Michigan). It means I hope that Ohio kicks Michigan’s butt every year:)

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

