Fears

“Courage is fear that has said its prayers.” ~ Dorothy Bernard

Part of my job here at the hospice is reviewing surveys that caretakers and family members fill out, giving their opinion of our services. The best part of this task is reading the comments that family members write on the back. It’s amazing how many different ways people can think of to say “thank you”.

Today I reviewed a survey that was completed by a patient, which is rare. Most of the surveys that are returned were filled out by the caretaker, usually a family member. The patient wrote about the nurse, “She took away my fears.”

I sat back for a moment and took that in. There are so many things someone can compliment you on, but to say “She took away my fears” has got to top damn near all of them. I will definitely make sure the nurse sees that survey. I am thankful for these reminders that I work with a rare and caring group of people.

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in fear, helping others, hospice, patients. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Fears

  1. i totally agree…. though really i respect all you guys that work there at the hospice. toward the very end of my dear nanas battle with ovarion cancer she was at a hospice. and to work there as you do and your fellow co-workers…. it says ALOT about you!

  2. Crys says:

    That is wonderful to hear! That actually made me think of an episode of Criminal Minds when one of the characters said “All she had left was hope, why would you take that away.” I know that business is business, but it makes a heck of a difference when the people you’re working with actually care.

  3. zombietron says:

    Wonderful 🙂I’m so glad for the patient – to trust someone enough to let go of your fears. That’s awesome!

  4. Mrs M says:

    I believe it’s a true honour to provide end of life care and I am so glad that nurse got it right.

  5. When I was being treated for Leukemia, there was no other place I felt as safe as the chemo room with my chemo nurses and, oddly enough, other patients.

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

