Conversations with a Kitten

I have mentioned a certain four-legged, tiny, meowing new addition to our household, and how Gary has pretended he does not like the kitten one bit. I offer into evidence the following snippets of conversations I have overheard Gary carrying on with the kitten:

*In a strict, deep voice*

“Why are you following me? I don’t want to hold you.”

“I don’t want you making biscuits on me right now.” (Making biscuits is what I call it when a cat kneads your arms, chest, or wherever its paws are resting as it purrs away.)

“You’re that not cute.”

“There, go over to Mommy. She likes cuddling with you.”

*Then, much later…in a hushed whisper…*

“Oh, are you going to chase my hand? Get it, get it! Oh, help me, a little panther got me!” (It was very hard not to laugh upon overhearing this, as I believe Gary thought I was dozing off at the time.)

No one can resist a kitten. I rest my case.

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in cats, Gary, humor, kitten. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Conversations with a Kitten

  1. ooooh smirking cat!!! i just spit my coffee EVERYWHERE!!! great freakin’ post! he called her a little panther! lol!! btw… i thought at my house we were the only crazies that knew and talked about a cat makin’ biscuits!! p.s. once i came home from work and my hubby didnt hear me walk in… so in i walk and he’s holding one of our cats while also playing the guitar… yep… he was singing to her, lol!!!

  2. Smirking Cat says:

    Ha ha, the best part was, he pronounced “help” like “halp”, like on the LOLCats captions. I’d love to have seen your husband singing to the cat! Was she a good audience?

  3. Pam says:

    Awwwww. That’s all. Nothing else. Just Awwwwww.

  4. Crys says:

    Ha HA! That’s awesome! He puts on such a hard front of dislike. We call the kneading “Making bread” and my friend calls it “Making muffins.”

  5. phairhead says:

    Gary’s so sentimental : )

  6. Smirking Cat says:

    He’s pouting because we didn’t bring the puppy home the other week (a puppy tried to follow us home when we went for a walk).

  7. Lydia says:

    I love it when kitties make biscuits! Who can resist it? And it’s awesome to see a big, tough guy fall for a teeny little kitteh! My hubby is a gentle giant but I still laugh when he calls my one cat (Sasha) “Sasha Bunny Biscuit Rabbit” too cute!

  8. Sam says:

    Years ago, my kitty BoBo used to sleep curled around the top of my head, he’d “make biscuits” before he was even fully awake and just as he was falling asleep. I miss BoBo terribly, I love your writing!

  9. Smirking Cat says:

    I used to have a cat who slept wrapped around my head. Oddly comforting and soothing!

  10. LOVE kittens! They are all full of playfulness, and not much else…well, naps maybe. But so fun!!! 😉

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

