Tucked In

I woke up shortly before the alarm went off this morning, and I groggily noticed that Gary was already up. I could hear him moving quietly in the living room. It was chilly, but I was snuggly warm under the covers, and I started to roll over to get comfy again.

I couldn’t help but smile when I realized that Gary had tucked me in after he got out of bed.

I practically needed to rent a tractor to pull the covers out from under me, since he had tucked me in tight as a straitjacket. I pictured him getting up, feeling how cold the room was, and knowing how easily I get cold, making sure I was wrapped up tight as a papoose under the covers before he left the room.

I remember a man I worked with once telling me that he had commented to his wife that his fingers were getting really stiff from arthritis, and it was getting difficult for him to button his shirts. He said he caught her later in the closet, fussing with one of his shirts, and when he asked what she was doing, she looked embarrassed and said she was trying to stretch the buttonholes so he could button his shirts easier. He told me, “That is real love.”

There’s no ring, gift, flower bouquet, or anything that can possibly be bought with cash that could come close to gifts like being tucked in tight, or someone stretching your buttonholes so you can button your shirt easier! If you are lucky, the person beside you in life is a gift.

*Image courtesy of Picoodle*

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in Gary, gentle heart, little things, love. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Tucked In

  1. I hate to sweep floors and mop. My hubby does all of the vacuuming and mopping in this house. That, my friend, is love. 😉

  2. phairhead says:

    My boyfriend kisses me on the shoulder to wake me up. it’s the little things that help you see the bigger pciture

  3. that is so sweet… your lucky to have him! every mornin’ when hubby gets up to leave he’ll turn all the heaters on for me(we live in a house that works with gas… so we are too paranoid to leave anything on overnight) to wake up to! its nice when you find someone who’ll take the time with those small gestures that make ALL the difference! ur a lucky gal!!

  4. Heather says:

    I agree completely. The gifts are nice, but true love is shown by the every day consistency of looking out for this other person and whether they are happy or not.So nice.

  5. Crys says:

    That type of love truly is a gift. I love getting jarred from sleep to get my “I love you” and a kiss from my fiance every morning, even if it’s before 5am.

  6. Sam says:

    That is wonderful, and makes me all gooey inside 🙂

  7. Dijea says:

    I’m lucky if mine just covers me back up. You are a lucky woman – did you feel like you were a “bed burrito? 🙂

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

