Standing Ovation

This past weekend, three of the kids (Wolverine, Bear, and Sunflower) were in a musical at their church. I managed to make it past the front door of the church without holy water boiling over or the heavens separating in protest, so I found a seat next to Gary in a pew and settled in for the show.

Kids plus a stage is a recipe for some laughs, and the musical was no exception. All of the kids did a great job, and I had a smile on my face the entire show. Gary laughed out loud as the kids got into their parts or entertained themselves on the stage when their limited attention spans ran out and there were glorious props to play with all around them.

Dove, who is almost 3, did not have a part, and Gary and I joked that she would have taken over, rewritten the script, and run the show if she was permitted anywhere near the stage. She watched her brothers and sister from a safe distance and, in between the typical fussiness of a child that age, seemed to enjoy it as well.

Gary was so proud, I thought he was going to burst. When the kids came down from the stage, he couldn’t stop telling them how wonderful they were and how proud he was of them. Wolverine had a solo, and I thought for sure Gary was going to leap to his feet and proclaim, “That’s my son!”, but he was held firmly in his seat by simply watching Wolverine sing and enjoying the moment.

I admit I was hesistant about going. We helped the kids practice their lines and the songs, and I was floored by lines like “If it’s in the Bible, it must be true!” I can’t support cutting children off from critical thinking and making their own decisions, as they gain maturity and insight, about religion and spirituality. There is nothing but chains in a “don’t think, don’t question, just accept because we said so” mentality.

I’m still not comfortable with those undertones of the musical, but the performance was wonderful and I was proud of the kids for the work they put into it. It was beautiful watching their faces, all of them, as they received the applause and a standing ovation at the end.

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in church, fun, kids, love, musical, religion. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Standing Ovation

  1. Just Me :) says:

    that sounds much more enjoyable then the typical spring program’s we’re treated to and it sounds like the kids had a blast!

    And I giggled at your second sentence…every time I take hubby to church he jokes that he’s going to need the holy water to put the flames out πŸ˜‰

  2. Dijea says:

    I’m afraid an alarm will go off – Dijea’s here etc. etc. I never though of the Holy Water issues.

  3. phairhead says:

    my 9 y/o niece thinks everything written in books is true. it’s sweet in a way

  4. Syn says:

    I joke that the church would fall down around my head if I walked through the doors:)

    Kids’ musicals are so much fun. I am going to my daughter’s class musical tonight at her school. Two nights ago was another daughter’s band concert. Busy, busy.

    I agree about the critical thinking and making my own decisions. It was my parent’s “because the bible says so” responses to all my questions as a kid that helped turn me off from my parents’ religion.

  5. Crys says:

    I grew up in the “The book says so, so it must be true” church, then I got older and realized that it’s really not all that true after all. πŸ™‚

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

