Am I the Only Person Who Doesn’t Like "Twilight"?

Of course I wasn’t completely oblivious to the Twilight mania, given that magazine covers tout the actors’ faces, and everything from t-shirts to tote bags have been sporting a repetitive Twilight theme. I brushed off the craze as another trendy lemming phase and ignored it until a friend lent Wolverine, Gary’s 10-year-old son, a copy of Twilight and I had to read it to pre-screen it for him.

The book starts off like something from the Sweet Valley High series, and I dozed through the banal obsessions of an insecure teenage girl, waiting for the story to pick up…which, unfortunately, it never does. Our main character, Bella, simply continues to grate one’s nerves to the very last page, a whiny, needy, clingy nothing of a person who needs saving so frequently she may as well hang with Sleeping Beauty, Snow White, or any assortment of helpless princesses.

The only saving grace of the book is the vampire family, though our main vampire Edward turns out to be so moody I had to wonder if vampires can be medicated. It was lost on me what a vampire over 100 years old could possibly find interesting in our trembling, griping, crybaby Bella, and I finally found myself skimming the large sections of empty text portraying Bella’s vapid thought processes, stalker-like obsessions with Edward, and woefully poorly-planned plots that only invariably led to someone else needing to rescue her…again.

I had just finished All God’s Children by Thomas Eidson before reading this, and the stark contrast in characters was almost comical. All God’s Children brings to life vivid, strong, and mesmerizing characters in a captivating story (I highly recommend this one), so different from the insipid, bland cardboard characters that plod their way through Twilight.

Sad thing is, I love vampire stories and devoured Anne Rice’s Interview with the Vampire, but Twilight never advanced beyond a silly teen drama for me. Maybe someone who rides the Twilight-loving wave can explain the infatuation to me.

Anyone?

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in annoying characters, books, movie, Twilight, vampires. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Am I the Only Person Who Doesn’t Like "Twilight"?

  1. Chelly says:

    I honestly don't mind the books… I think my love for the OTHER vampires hold my interest enough. Bella did grate my nerves, and Edward was interesting… I honestly feel the book from Edward's point of view (the one that wont be released anytime soon) was written ten times better. And her books did get better the farther in. Book 2 annoyed the hell out of me, except for the end, book three was a bit better, and book four was the best written of all. I have a huge collection of vampire books, and am looking for more.

  2. phairhead says:

    it's not a vampire story. i'm going w/ not so hot on Twillight

  3. Smirking Cat says:

    I agree; the vampires are just sort of there, and making Bella the focus makes the story very dull.

  4. When my daughter, who rarely reads, begged for the books and devoured the first one in a week I had to read them to see what the big deal was. While I completely agree with your comments about Bella, there was something about the story I found captivating and I read all four books.

    Obsessed I am not, and the movie was utter shit.

    One thing I did like about the stories, keeping in mind that they are aimed at teenage girls, is that Bella is very plain. There is nothing overly special about her, but to Edward she is everything. I think that is an important message to teenage girls that to someone, somewhere they are the most beautiful, wonderful thing walking. This point was completely lost in the movie.

    But otherwise, I will stick with Christopher Moore. If a story is going to be stupid it should make me laugh out loud on the train.

  5. kimberlina says:

    sometimes, you just want utter and total fluff. like eating cheesecake. or fast food. 🙂

  6. oh noooooo- im afraid im one of the many many other losers out there!! nahh- but i am with kimberlina… sometimes you just want some fluff and to not have to think so hard!

    btw… i didnt mind bella in the books, at all, but i wish we could have had anyone else but kristen stewart in the movie.

  7. Flutterby says:

    I managed to read them because I wanted to see what the hype was all about. The writing made my eyes bleed and my brain ache. The basic plot was sort of good but the execution was so lacking in writing skills that I am still flabbergasted it was allowed to be published without some serious editing. And don't get me started on the movie… I have seen rocks with better acting abilities than the two chosen for the main roles…

  8. I like the Twilight series. I think the movie was okay, but not a masterpiece…and I have to say that the books did get better as they went along…but overall, I enjoy the “dark, brooding vampire falls in love with a teen girl” plot regardless of how well the story is written or how believable the characters are. I am a much bigger fan of Buffy the Vampire Slayer, but Twilight is still cool with me. (I do agree with a previous commenter who said that New Moon, the book, sucked hardcore. I hated it, it was soooo boring.)

  9. Smirking Cat says:

    The casting of Edward in particular struck me as odd after reading Twilight. I don't picture Edward as skinny, messy-haired, or unshaven.

  10. Syn says:

    I read them because my 12yo daughter wanted to read them and I wanted to make sure they were ok. I didn't like book two and thought book four was the best out of the four of them. I took my pre-teen to the movie and we enjoyed the movie together.

    My daughter, who never wanted to read before, now devours books thanks to the Twilight series catching her interest. I think that's great.

    I think Edward is cute (if he doesn't open his mouth in interviews on television where he makes himself look either ditzy or stoned) so I don't mind the many posters, messenger bags, key rings, neck chains and buttons in my daughter's room, lol. It's her celebrity teen crush. Mine was Prince (loved Darling Nikki, DMSR, etc.) so hers is a little better than mine was. I remember those days… 🙂

  11. Crys says:

    I haven't read them yet, and I assume that one day I might just to see what the hype is about. I've already passed through my vampire obsessed stage … maybe that's part of the problem.

  12. Day says:

    I agree with Wicked Stepmother… Christopher Moore's books are laugh out loud great. Completely mental, but very enjoyable!

    I did, sadly, enjoy the Twilight books. Book 4 was the best by far. But I read everything.

    I would also recommend Mary Janice Davidson's series about vampires. It is more Candace Bushnell with Vampires. I thought it was very light and funny.

  13. Amy says:

    I read them all and am sad to say that I enjoyed most of them. Book 2 was the most boring but she got better after that. Having young girls that like to hang out at my house and being one that bought the movie, I've gotten to watch it several times. I could have done with a different Edward, but every young girl I know has devoured the books and the movie. If it gets kids to read- I'm all for it! But then again, I'm a Harry Potter fan too. What can I say….

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

