Lurn to Spel

Within one block yesterday, I spotted a sign in front of a store proudly boasting about its “clearence” sale, and a shop right down the street pushing its “sandwitches”. Call me critical, call me anal, or just blame it on the fact that my mother was a die-hard school teacher, but misspelled words, typos, and punctuation errors make my skin crawl.

I have filled out forms in doctor’s offices and noticed errors on the printed forms. This leaves me feeling less than confident that I’m in good hands but also makes me wonder how much they paid to have the forms printed with mistakes all over them.

Reading the back of my jar of hair conditioner (yes, I actually read these things), I saw that the product brags about “it’s” ability to repair my hair. Someone was paid cold, hard cash to oversee the production of these jars, and “‘it’s vs. its'” slipped right by.

When Gary receives his weekly love letter from his ex’s lawyer, I am consumed with the desire to attack it with a red pen, circle each spelling and grammar error, and send it back with a request to make corrections and try, try again. Lawyers get paid quite a bit more than minimum wage and have assistants, so a quick spell check is not beyond the call of duty, even if lying verbally is more their speed than lying in writing.

I’m not the only one who can’t help but notice errors all around. One blog devoted to unnecessary quotation marks, aptly called The “Blog” of “Unnecessary” Quotation Marks, captures the offending quotation marks and follows each one with a hilarious comment or two about the error.

I don’t pretend to be perfect. Yet I can’t help but think that taking time to do something right is a minimum, particularly if you are being paid to do it! Every time I see a typo or misspelled word on a product or advertisement or letter from a so-called professional, I wonder how much someone was reimbursed for butchering words and grammar and essentially doing the job wrong.

Of course, in some instances it matters more than in others:


*Cartoon courtesy of cartoonstock.com*

*Photo courtesy of irrationalsigns.com*

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in pet peeves, spelling errors. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Lurn to Spel

  1. “Grate” post. I follow a blog called Cakewrecks (www.cakewrecks.blogspot.com) that is completely devoted to spelling errors and FUBARs on bakery items. Nice to see there's another LOLCats fan out there too. Cheers – Georgina

  2. Smirking Cat says:

    I adore LOLCats! I overlook the misspelled words there, of course 🙂

  3. i'm so with you on this!

    i'll be the first to admit about myself that i'm not the greatest speller…. but hello! that's why we have spell check and dictionary's!!

    happy friday!!!!

  4. Crys says:

    Being in the publishing field I would often cringe in disgust when flipping through the latest issue to find mistakes the editors missed. Luckily I was/still am on internet so I was able to not have a feeling of blame on myself. I love editing! and even though I realize I too make spelling errors (usually when I'm tired and being lazy) I try to fix what I can.

  5. Jamie says:

    Also look at these blogs
    http://www.apostropheabuse.com
    lowercasel.blogspot.com

  6. phairhead says:

    Man can I identify to yr hi-larious post! I used to live near a farmstand that sold “shurbs” and “pernells”.

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

