Family

Last night, I stretched sleepily and announced to Gary and the kids, “I better head to bed.”

All of them looked at me like I was speaking a foreign language from a mutated second head, and asked me incredulously, “Why?”

I reminded them that I had to go to work the next day, even though Gary was off with the kids, to which Wolverine quickly replied, “Aw, just call in sick.”

Oh, how tempting. I explained the project I had to work on, which failed to impress anyone, as they were already plotting ways to make me stay home from work, like a midnight covert operation to steal my alarm clock, hiding my car keys, and Gary’s favorite, blunt force trauma to my head so I slept in too late to go to work.

Wolverine followed me as I set the alarm clock and got everything ready for work the next day. He looked at me with big, green eyes and told me, “We want you to stay home with us tomorrow, not go to work.”

Damnit, damnit, damnit. I really did have a big project to work on today, and it was hard as hell to walk out the front door this morning. As soon as I got to work, it was hectic and aggravating, too much to get done in one day but expected to be done yesterday, and I kept wishing I was at home with Gary and the kids.

I was poring over stacks of paper and fending off copy machine hogs when I was paged to come to the lobby. Great, I thought, some stupid question about a delivery or supplies or some other random task that falls to me out of default because no one else knows what the hell to do.

When I opened the door to the lobby, I saw Gary first, then the halo of giggling blonde heads circling him, waiting for me. It was an instant burst of sunlight into the day. They were there to surprise me and take me to lunch.

I showed the kids my desk and all the pictures on my bookshelves. While Sunflower busied herself adding tasks to the to-do list I keep next to my computer, and crossing off items I actually had not completed yet, Bear surveyed the wayward stacks of medical supplies in my office and asked, “Why do you work in the basement?”

I laughed. That is what it feels like sometimes! We are transitioning, moving, and making so many changes that my office (and many others) have been converted into psuedo-storerooms until final decisions are made. I told him, “Well, until we finish moving things around, this stays a big old mess.”

His eyes grew wide. “And you’re okay?”

I didn’t know what he meant at first, then he explained, “But you like things neat.”

I turn my back on the mess and just keep my desk extra-organized to compensate!

Lunch was great, and the kids drew pictures while we waited for our food. I can’t help but notice people glancing over at us and watching us when we are out, especially Gary and the kids, since they just look so happy together. Their laughter is infectious, and it’s hard not to smile when they are together.

Twenty more minutes, and I am flipping off this computer, locking up, and tearing out of here to get home. I have a surprise for them now: today I told the boss I am taking Monday off to be with my family.

*”Love” image courtesy of photobucket*

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in kids, love, stepkids, work. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Family

  1. This was a great post to kick off the weekend! Enjoy your Monday with your family!

  2. What a great day!!! Enjoy your time off with your family!!

  3. Georgina says:

    Wow! What a lovely surprise in the middle of the day. It's so nice that you have stepkids that want you around. I like the comment from Wolverine about your office – he was obviously very concerned about your mental well-being. Very sweet!

  4. I support all hookie ventures. Enjoy it!!
    Stopped by b/c I love the name of your blog and I'm glad I did. Smirk on 🙂

  5. mean stepmom says:

    how sweet of them to take you to lunch! I hope you have a wonderful Monday 🙂

  6. Just Me :) says:

    Long weekend are the BEST! Hope you're having a great day off with the fam!

  7. Crys says:

    Awww, enjoy your day!

  8. Pam says:

    My desk is always a disaster after my kids have been to visit. All the highlighters are scattered, the date stamp and RUSH stamp have been used on everything, and post-its (date-stamped their birthdays) cover everything. It's a hassle, but it makes me smile anyway. Especiallly the first time I use the date-stamper again. What the, it's not OCTOBER 2011!

  9. i think that maybe i may/ or must be… pmsing… b/c for some reason this brought tears to my eyes!!

    lucky lucky you!!!

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

