Answer This…

Why speak intelligently or rationally, adult to adult, when you can hide behind cowardly, snide and bitter e-mails instead?

Why actually get to know other people in the children’s lives when you can comfortably rest upon the mountain of lies you’ve scratched up to justify being a bitch?

Why teach the kids resilience and independence when you can endlessly mooch and pilfer to your own benefit instead?

Why admit to the truth when lying comes more naturally to you than breathing?

Why not model for the kids how to gracefully move on, get a life, and effectively cope instead of clinging desperately and pathetically to a past you deliberately destroyed?

Most important:

Why don’t the kids matter enough to make all of these questions irrelevant?

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in kids, no answers, questions. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Answer This…

  1. Marsha says:

    I often wondered these things myself as a stepmother. Why would someone who “loves” their children also purposely destroy the same child's self-confidence? I never understood either.

  2. Marsha says:

    I often wondered these things myself as a stepmother. Why would someone who “loves” their children also purposely destroy the same child's self-confidence? I never understood either.

  3. Just Me :) says:

    Bc they are incapable of acting in the best interest of the children. They find more enjoyment in wreaking havoc in the other 1/2 of the kids lives.

  4. I couldn't have put it better myself!!

    I've often thought that, despite the Wicked Stepmother myth, it's very often the very people who are supposed to love the kids the most who do them the most damage.

    Stepmothers have an ability to step back from the madness of the parents' “unconditional love” and see what is actually best for the child.

    LBM xxx

  5. I know someone I would love to forward this to…
    Great post.

  6. Crys says:

    Wicked, selfish slimy people exist in the world…it's a real shame.

  7. Syn says:

    I never understood why any ex (male or female) would choose not to get to know a step-parent. You don't send your child to a babysitter without getting to know them. You don't send them off to school without going to meet the teachers. Why would you choose not to be friendly and get to know the other person who is going to be spending so much time with your child, tucking your child in, watching your child when their bio-parent was out, giving medicine when they were sick, etc.? I never got that! In the 14 years I've been a part of my stepkids' lives, my husband's ex and I have not had ONE real conversation…EVER. (I don't consider the time she and her sister called to accuse me of stealing a three year old's pants a “real” get to know you conversation.) Everything nasty has been done in email, letters, phone calls to hubby or when he'd pick up the kids and she'd rant at him in front of the kids. Not one real conversation.

  8. mrsguido187 says:

    I don't understand either. I hate to say this, but it is comforting to know that I'm not the only one that has to deal with this insanity.

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

