Not So Little Panther

While enjoying a Cats 101 TV show recently, Gary and I got hooked on a segment about Bombay cats. The more they described the Bombay, the more certain we were that our adopted Rosie, the official Smirking Cat mascot, is no doubt a Bombay. Shiny black fur, very affectionate, gold eyes, like a little black panther…he has every characteristic.

TV Announcer: The Bombay cat is prone to overeating.

Me: (snicker, snicker): meaningful and pointed glances in Gary’s direction, since he claims Rosie is not fat

TV Announcer: …but the Bombay can maintain a healthy weight unless the cat is overfed.

Gary: meaningful and pointed glances at me, folding his arms and looking rather pleased with himself

Wha…? Well, what am I supposed to do when our very own Bombay looks up at me with large, sad, pitiful eyes and meows so plaintively, casting longing and wishful glances at his freshly-emptied food bowl, convincing me he is mere seconds from collapsing from hunger despite his voluminous belly and ever-expanding girth?

*Fat Black Cat image courtesy of purrprints.blogspot.com, available in print, on a magnet, or on a notecard*

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in Bombay, cats, Gary, Rosie. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Not So Little Panther

  1. Crys says:

    Ha ha! We did that with Nasty Cat while watching Cats 101. Except we're pretty sure he's part Maine Coon.

  2. phairhead says:

    awww precious kitties šŸ˜€

  3. *Marie* says:

    LOL I can picture that happening!

  4. Dijea says:

    I've got a fat cat, I can't not fill the bowl when he looks either. Beautiful sleek black cat with the softest fur is begining to resemble Marlon Brando. Not kidding.

  5. I love cats, they have so much personality! My cat's enemy # 1 was the computer. She would NOT let you focus on the computer and not her. She would come in and sit right on the keyboard.

  6. Pam says:

    My DD13 feeds the cats. Every once in a while, one of them will look up at me and just meow plaintively (no other word for it). I'll say “DD, the cats are saying you didn't feed them.” Sometimes her reply is “They're lying! I did feed them.” I'll look down at this one cat and tell her “She says she fed you.” She'll look up at me and meow a little, then walk away. It's happened more than once, and it makes me laugh every time. No fancy cats at our house though. Just tortoiseshell, American shorthairs.

  7. you guys are just so cute and funny… but now that i read this i think my good ole gal Cleo may have been a bombay too, she was a TOTAL fattie!!!!

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

