Keeping Me Humble

Just in case I get a bit overconfident or get a swagger in my step, Gary and the kids are always there to keep me humble. Snippets from just this past week or two:

Bear: Smirking Cat, you stink at trying to be funny. (Hey, Gary tells me the same thing! Clearly neither one has a well-developed sense of humor, eh?)

Dove (watching me work out): You look funny! (followed by much pointing and laughing throughout the rest of my workout. So glad I can serve as entertainment.)

Wolverine (regarding my outfit for work): Ummm…you look funny. (When asked to elaborate, he explained, “You look like a lady in church.” Apparently I am only supposed to wear t-shirts, jeans, and sneakers, and the corporate look gets two thumbs down!)

Just as I develop a complex about my jokes, work outfits, and exercise, though, Bear is there to save the day by simply looking up at me and saying, “Thank you for a good day.”

Just for that, I will spare him for a while from any of my torturous jokes, as well as my singing, which he has also informed me has a distinctly odoriferous quality.

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in family, funny, Gary, kids. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Keeping Me Humble

  1. Dijea says:

    I have a friend who's twins tell her to put on make-up so she doesn't look hideous.

    It could be worse. My kids laugh at me all the time so don't feel bad.

    I don't think you look funny.

  2. phairhead says:

    i think yr funny 😀

  3. They are only making fun of you because they love you! Ever since I have been around the Kid has said I look like I am 100. Well I was 19 when it first started! We also have this thing where we go back and forth about whether I stink, or if I smell like sunshine and roses.

  4. Smirking Cat says:

    They like to make fun of my cats too, especially Tweetie, even though I personally believe Sylvester offers up far more material.

  5. doncha just love the little ones!!

  6. Crys says:

    Your household sounds like mine. Ha ha. That's why I not longer work out in front of anyone because it makes it so much easier to concentrate.

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

