Two Sheets of Paper

Cleaning out my file box this past weekend, I came across the extensive documentation of my divorce so long ago: two sheets of paper.

Yep, that’s it. A single court record, stapled in the corner, declaring us officially divorced, and that was that. No reopening of the case, no motions, no drama, nothing.

I cracked up and held it up to show Gary, who also laughed ironically.

Gary’s and his ex’s divorce file is massive, filling one entire file box and several more file folders that are stuffed to bursting. The file of post-divorce paperwork alone finally had to be crammed into a large tote bag because it was so full, it was tearing the heavy-duty folder it was in!

Page after countless page capturing several years’ worth of a one-sided, frenetic love affair with the courtroom; typo-laden hate-o-grams from a licentious lawyer; pettish motions; chest-pounding subpoenas; a chronology of worn-out lies, groundless accusations, and finger-pointing sob stories.

My ex-husband was a lot of things, flawed, like all of us. One thing he was not, fortunately, was a litigation-happy nutcase who couldn’t keep his ass out of the courtroom. Wherever he is now, whatever he is doing, I’d like to sincerely thank him for that.

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in court, divorce, filing, lawyers suck, ligitation-happy, papers. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Two Sheets of Paper

  1. Amy says:

    It would have been so much better for the kids if Gary's ex had shown any of the same maturity, But that's how liars are, They're selfish and immature and feel the need to drag as many people as possible into the drama. Its so sad that the kids have to spend so much time exposed to someone with that few morals.

  2. furiousBall says:

    i hate having to go through my papers. i just want to forget that person, not the years that brought me my two amazing children, but all that pain i guess was necessary to get where i am now. which is happy.

  3. I can't tell you how many files I have from the divorce and child support/ custody hearings. Not to mention all the e-mails we had to keep.

  4. I know exactly what you mean, my divorce file is a few pages thick total and that included the sale of our home. The BF wasn't even married to PEG but their custody filing paperwork is HUGE! He has multiple files that hold all the information and crap that went back and forth. It is insane and if PEG had more money we would be in court all the time.

  5. Smirking Cat says:

    We are on first-name basis with the mail carrier who has had to come to our door pretty much weekly to have us sign for the latest love letter/motion/petition/BS. Too bad this amount of energy and time has not been placed properly in helping the kids adjust and heal.

  6. Georgina says:

    Even though we never had nightmare paper fights with the Ex, the ways some families go through, I always hated having to keep all the documents 'just in case'. It was like hanging onto negative energy. – G

  7. i know right.. too bad gary couldn't have been that lucky!

  8. Hahaha! TWO PAGES! I love it!

    I'm with you on the extensive legal docs thing…my hubby has an entire drawer of a file cabinet dedicated to all things ex-related. It's sad that we have to keep copies of everything we've ever written, even down to the date of reimbursements for the kids' medical expenses, because you never know when she'll suddenly be like, “I've been burned before! I don't trust you to reimburse me!” WTF? Projection much?

  9. Smirking Cat says:

    “Projection much?”

    Oh, I hear you on that 🙂

  10. Syn says:

    Isn't that amazing? My husband was never married to the mother of his kids and all the documentation has filled several of the long banker's boxes with piles of folders that need to be stuffed into a new banker's box whenever I get around to buying another one. They take up a good bit of storage room under our stairs:( The first ten years fills most of them.

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

