Checking is Not Legal in Curling

When I stopped at home for lunch this afternoon, Gary had the TV turned on. My highly-trained and detail-oriented eye spotted ice, uniforms, and something flitting about on that ice, and I instantly perked up: ahhh, was this related to my beloved hockey?

Gary informed me that he was watching some Olympic curling. I observed for a bit, waiting for the first check into the wall, the first flash of ice flying from a sliding skate, an arm strategically flung to mercilessly toss someone onto the ice.

Nothing. I glanced at Gary in confusion.

“So…there’s no checking in curling?” I stated the obvious.

Gary cast me a patient glance. “No.”

I turned back to the TV, now confused why the channel had yet to change. No checking? No fighting? But…why?

Admittedly, I have never watched curling before, and in fact, never heard of it. Maybe if I actually understood the game, it would hold more allure. But I was left with a burning urge to watch some real hockey! Well, the Lightning play on March 2nd…

Oh, I jest! I said real hockey. The United States women’s hockey team plays Finland tomorrow.

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in checking, curling, ice hockey, Olympics. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Checking is Not Legal in Curling

  1. Amy says:

    Hockey? I watched the 1980 mens olympic team. Does that count?

    Oh wait- I just dated myself didn't I. LOL

  2. phairhead says:

    We kicked some Swiss ass! Go US Hockey team!

  3. Do not underestimate the power of Curling lol. I and several of my friends will reluctantly admit to being drawn into it lol. Sometimes you can't reach the remote and other times you just cant stop twisting and turning trying to figure it out lol.

  4. dragonmctt says:

    Someone was discussing this same topic on Olympic coverage the other day – but about figure skating. He mentioned that the Olympic Committee wanted to attract more hockey fans to watch figure skating. His guest speaker or co-host surmised that the only way that would happen would be if they put two figure skaters in the rink at once and had them try to take each other out by checking ; )

  5. kimberlina says:

    is curling like… shuffleboard on ice?

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

