Sold!

I can only assume that Jeffrey Vinik does not watch hockey much.

Why else would he have parted with $110 million to purchase the Tampa Bay Lightning? Yes, folks, it is true: my days of mocking my hockey team for being owned by the creators of the blood-and-guts Saw movies are now over.

How come no one told me my hockey team was up for grabs? I’d have offered the loose change scattered in the bottom of my purse for it.

Mr. Vinik, you are aware that the Lightning haven’t won a season since 2004 and that the stands are more and more barrren with each game? And that this team has shown no sign of waking up from their stupor and playing any real hockey any time soon?

I can’t sum it up any better than The Puck Stops Here did:

“Tampa Bay has a fresh start. There was no possibility of success under the old ownership. It is unclear what the Jeffrey Vinik ownership will bring, but it would be hard to be worse.”

Ouch.

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in Jeffrey Vinik, sold, Tampa Bay Lightning. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sold!

  1. furiousBall says:

    although the present hasn't been great you guys did win a Stanley Cup more recent than most. so shuddap and hire a better GM

  2. Amy says:

    Well, maybe they'll get better. Like he said- it can't get much worse.

    Good luck for a better season!

  3. Dijea says:

    Fresh starts are good.

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

