Dr. Sylvester & Mr. Hyde

I’ve written about our cat Sylvester before (and by “our cat”, I really mean “Gary’s cat”), and you may have come away with the impression that Sylvester is crazy, mentally unstable, a nutcase, and best left heavily medicated in a strait jacket in a well-padded room.

Most of the time, that impression would be absolutely correct. But there are times the whacko fluff of fur surprises me and even touches my heart.

This has been a rough winter for me, one sinus infection, cough, or cold after another, and when I finally waved the white flag of defeat and collapsed in bed, I was surprised to find that my new nurse maid and caretaker came in the form of a humongous black and white fluff ball who never left my side.

Sylvester seems to have a sensor that lets him know when I am not feeling well. (I’m sure my generally crabby mood when I am sick doesn’t tip him off at all, nah!) The cat who usually shies away from being petted or offered any affection whatsoever from me will suddenly be glued to my side, following me from room to room, laying right next to me on the bed, watching over me as I sleep. He nuzzles me, purrs gently, comforts me with his presence. And stays with me all night.

I have noticed the same behavior when Gary’s youngest daughter, Dove, takes a nap on the bed. Sylvester sits near her or at her feet and watches the door like he is standing sentry, on duty, protective. The cat who Dove can’t get anywhere near while she is awake, won’t leave her side while she is asleep.

While Sylvester is racing around the house like his tail is on fire, or leaping from furniture to furniture, or trying to wrestle the other cats when they don’t want to, or chasing what appears to be thin air and generally behaving like a psycho, I admit feeling exasperated and wondering what I was thinking, bringing home a nearly-starved kitten that day years ago, and desperately hoping he outgrows the kitten stage sometime soon. Very soon.

But when I wake up from a Nyquil-induced coma in the middle of the night and feel him laying next to me, watching me, bursting into his signature Mack-truck purr once he notices I am awake, and feel that gentle little nuzzle of his gigantic fluffy head, I have to smile and realize there is more to our crazy cat than he usually lets us in on.

Now, if only he would stop wrestling the rugs and leaving them bunched up at the front door…

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in crazy cat, kids, love, Sylvester. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Dr. Sylvester & Mr. Hyde

  1. Cats can be so crazy, but they can be very comforting. We used to have 2 cats that LOVED olives… if they heard the fridge door open and the lid open, they would stampede. They also loved to get a running start in the living room and then jump onto the kitchen chairs (ours had wheels)and fly across the kitchen and smash into the wall.

  2. SERIOUSLY…

    i am the biggest DORK that evah lived for the simple fact that this post brought tears to my eyes… maybe i'm pms-ing…? i hope so anyhow!!!

    but this post.. this is why i love and adore cats…

    personally.. i think cats rule us.. we just might not realize it!

  3. Smirking Cat says:

    I started to yell at Sylvester the first time I caught him watching Dove sleep. He turned to me with a stern look like he was saying, “Shhh! Can't you see she is sleeping?” I decided to leave him alone and watch him istead. He sat near her feet and alternated between watching her and watching the door. It was amazing to see him turn into a guard dog!

  4. phairhead says:

    I think my cat (my baby of 10 years) loves my boyfriend more than she loves me.

    And what is up w/ cats waking up from a sound sleep & dashing into the next room? Are they needed on urgent business?

  5. kimberlina says:

    awwwwwwwwwww, what a sweetie!

    glad he's been keeping you company in your sickness!

  6. Amy says:

    Sounds like one amazing animal!

    Our cat herds the chickens. You have to watch the dog so he doesn't kill them. But not the cat. If they get out and we can't find them, she'll help round them up.

  7. So sorry for putting this here but i didnt know where else to put it, and thinking maybe the step in mom would come back to check comments i wanted to ask her if her blog would be back eventually, cuz im nosey like that.

    And i miss having cats! But not knowing where we will end up means we shouldnt add to the family.

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

