The Last Day

After being with us for a week for spring break, the kids will be leaving this evening. There is such a dichotomy between the day the kids arrive and the day they know they are leaving. When they first arrive, they are downright giddy, constantly laughing, smiling, just over the moon to be with their dad again. The energy level in the house is through the roof, and the cats wisely run for cover under the bed!

A few days ago, though, the hesitant questions started: “How many more days do we have with you, Daddy?”

Gary handles it well, tells them they have plenty of time and to focus on today, not start worrying about leaving. I know it is hard for him too, though.

Last night I sat down with my vast stash of nail polish since Dove wanted me to paint her nails. Sunflower wandered over and couldn’t seem to make up her mind if she wanted her nails done or not. She finally just looked up at me and looked so confused. She said, “I don’t know if I want my nails done because when I look at them, I will cry.”

I’m no salon professional, but I didn’t think my manicure services were bad enough to elicit tears, so I asked her, “Why would looking at your nails make you cry?”

She said, “Because then I miss you and Daddy.”

I really didn’t know what to say.

The hardest part is always the last day. I know it is hard on the kids, hard on Gary, and that there is not a whole lot I can do to make any of them feel better.

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in Gary, kids, leaving, love, spring break, tears. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Last Day

  1. That is so sweet, maybe you could tell her instead of looking at her nails and crying, she should look at them and remember all the fun you guys had, and how great it will be next time you see them.

    Was any progress made after court?

  2. Amy says:

    Such a shame that the crazy woman who gave birth to them makes this so very hard on the kids. They should be free to be allowed to love their daddy.

  3. oh dove just broke my heart a little…

    and i've been there and did what you are doing.. i can remember when doug was in iraq- and i had to take my stepson back after the wkend.. all the way there he would just sob and sob on and on…

    but i always told him.. he could call anytime.. and i would always be back

    hey.. i know u'll think i'm the largest dork.. but a while back i had a somewhat major computer crash and lost a lot of stuff.. including the link to your private place.. can i please get it again.. i'll be more careful this time- promise!!

    have a beautiful wkend!

  4. Smirking Cat says:

    “Was any progress made after court?”

    There has never been any progress, particularly related to court, and I truly don't anticipate there ever will be. The kids simply are not priority to everyone, even though they should be.

    Randi, I will resend the link!

  5. JaNae says:

    May I have the link, too, please?

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.