Sometimes It’s Good When They Talk About You

This morning, my boss, a very blunt and to-the-point individual, wandered into my office and commented, “Oh, I had a conversation with one of our board members about you yesterday.”

Why is it that statements like that make me automatically assume something bad is about to happen? I looked up from my desk, affixed a neutral smile on my face, and casually said, “Oh?”, which really meant, “Are you firing me now?”

Turns out one of our board members told her that I am very professional, that I respond quickly to questions and requests, that I follow protocol in communicating with board members (which gets touchy when the board is your boss’s boss), and concluded with, “She is a keeper.”

According to my boss, she responded by saying, “Then approve more money in the budget so I can keep her.”

I wanted to suggest a bake sale or maybe lemonade stands to generate funds for my much-needed raise, but I am still not sure my boss understands my sense of humor. I don’t think most of our board members know their way around a kitchen anyway. (A talk-a-thon, however, would drum up large sums of revenue, as evidenced by their lengthy meetings and conference calls.)

I will definitely keep this conversation tucked away for my annual review and negotiation of my pay! In the meantime, it is good to know that busting my ass has not gone unnoticed.

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in board members, boss, compliments, work. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Sometimes It’s Good When They Talk About You

  1. GO YOU!!!

    makes it all a tiny bit worth it, eh?

  2. Amy says:

    Congrats!

    I hope they give you a nice big raise!

  3. That is the best feeling!!!! So glad for you…and I hope you get that raise!
    Sometimes I wonder if my ass-busting gets noticed…then I hear our board members calling my supervisor by my name and I realize everyone knows who does all the work, even if they don't know what I look like 😉

  4. Congrats! Getting positive feed back is a plus. I use to freak out when the owner of the company would call me, but then I realized he was relying on me more because he got to know me, and knew I could do whatever it was he needed.

  5. Crys says:

    Yay for you! LOL I would have suggested a bake sale too … or a car wash. 🙂

  6. kimberlina says:

    congrats!! always good to have someone appreciate and stick up for you. always.

  7. Congratulations! That is awesome!

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

