Hardest Person to Shop For!

There’s only one problem with Mother’s Day: the mother I have to shop for! This woman does not like flowers (here is a direct quote: “All they do is die”); does not wear rings, bracelets, or most other jewelry; is not particularly sentimental; and will not tell me when I have bestowed upon her a gift she is only going to use to prop up other reject gifts in the back of the closet.

Therefore, this year, I am giving Mama Smirking Cat an early gift: the official Hardest Person to Shop for Award!

As if enjoying me as one of her offspring is not delight enough, I have carefully hand-crafted her cyber-trophy (that glorious photo to the left of this post) and proudly present it to the woman most deserving of this title.

I started shopping for Mother’s Day sometime around, oh, the day after Mother’s Day last year, because I knew it would take at least that long. Each idea I had was put down: perfume? Just got her that for Christmas. Gift card? I’ve seen one too many unused gift cards floating around her house to fall for that. Flowers? Already covered that. Handbag? She already has 500 of those, and counting. Jewelry? It will just collect dust on her dresser top.

Exhausted, empty-handed, and frustrated, I even debated not sending a gift at all. What if I just colored her a picture? That worked when I was 5…

With just days to spare, I finally ordered her gift this morning. It’s actually something I would enjoy receiving myself, so there is some hope…however dim…that she might actually like her Mother’s Day present this year!

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in gifts, hard to shop for, mother, Mother's Day, shopping. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Hardest Person to Shop For!

  1. Dijea says:

    I can't shop for mom either – she gets whatever she wants and then never tells me so I always duplicate things.

    ARG!

  2. furiousBall says:

    I am clueless for my mom's gift. No idea… at all. She didn't seem to like that hockey fights compilation dvd last year.

  3. Smirking Cat says:

    Hockey fights compilation? Where did you find THAT? My mother would hate it, but I would love it πŸ™‚

  4. Last year I gave my mother money for a pedicure & she used it for bills… Said she needed to be pratical at her age & a pedicure was a waste of prefectly good money. Besides, who was going to be looking at her feet??

    *sigh*

  5. Crys says:

    I have it pretty easy. Dark Chocolate is always welcomed by my mom. πŸ™‚

  6. Katy says:

    Between my mom having everything she needs and me being pretty broke, I plan on taking her to do something instead of buying her things. I think we'll do lunch and get our nails done and call it a day!

    Good luck!

  7. i got me one of those tough momma's too!!!

    i realize that normally my gift will most likely be wasted money.. but i just choose to think that it's the thought that counts.. lol!

  8. Amy says:

    My mom gets mad at me if I get her anything for mothers day. She said she's got enough stuff that she's trying to weed out without me giving her more to accumulate. I just send her pictures of the great grand baby now. It's the only thing that she doesn't complain about.

  9. Heather T says:

    The flowers thing I understand. I like them, but my husband puts it this way: if the flowers are a symbol of my feelings and affection for you, what does it mean that we know they will die in only a few days? He buys me potted plants. He also buy potted plants for his mother πŸ˜‰

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

