What is This Crap on the Radio?

Just when I thought the pop music world could not unleash anything more annoying than Britney Spears’ overrated nasal whine, or Beyonce’s dull, robotic monotone, or Justin Bieber’s absurd backward-hurricane-tunnel hairdo…along came a grating, sophomoric thorn-in-my-side by the name of Kesha with idiotic lyrics, a fascination with beards, a doped-up squirrel chatter voice, and an inability to speak or sing without flighty giggles and the word “like” peppered mindlessly between every few words.

I flipped on the radio a week or so ago, and the DJ’s were interviewing a hopelessly idiotic woman who sounded fall-down drunk at 7 in the morning. I wasn’t terribly surprised when they announced they were speaking with Kesha. Really? I couldn’t have guessed…or turned the radio off fast enough.

Excuse me while I crank up some old-school Metallica. Even their worst album isn’t half as abusive to my ears as the latest drivel from pop radio.

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in annoying people, pop music, what the hell?. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to What is This Crap on the Radio?

  1. LMAO… I can't stand Justin Bieber… I seriously thought my radio was messed up when his name would scroll across the display… I thought it was supposed to be Justine… he sounds like a woman!

    I can't stand Kesha either… what a waste of air space… and it doesn't help the XM radio plays her songs ALL THE FREAKING TIME. I am about to cancel my subscription between her and Justine… errr Justin….

  2. Smirking Cat says:

    Every time I see Justin Bieber, I have an overwhelming urge to slick hair mousse into my hands, chase him down, and shove that damn hair out of his face.

  3. lol.. my 12 year old is obsessed with Justin Bieber. She tries to listen to Kesha, but I don't let her. “Before I leave, brush my teeth with a bottle of Jack” – that's real inspiring for our youth to hear! UGH!

  4. phairhead says:

    i've never heard of Kesha, so i you tubed her and now i am bleeding from the eyeballs. I think i'd rather listen to “The Lumberjack Song” by Jackyl all day for a week

  5. JaNae says:

    Thanks for reminding me why I purchased a car radio that controls my iPod. People make fun of me because I don't know “new” music, but, quite honestly, I'm ok with that. I actually walked out of a store today strickly because they were playing “Party in the USA.” I'm sad that I know that it's a Miley Cyrus song, but I swear it's because a friend posted on facebook about it. Music today makes me sad.

  6. This was the perfect post to read while having my morning tea. What's a better wake up than shooting steaming hot liquid out your nose in an uncontrollable laugh?!
    I'm so with you…I don't listen to commercial radio; I'm a public radio whore and an iPod slut. When I do catch tunes on the radio when out with friends or at the pub, I'm often aghast at what passes for music nowadays!
    Justin Bieber needs an atomic wedgie. Like, immediately.

  7. Syn says:

    My kids love every one of the people you can't stand, lol. I saw a live performance of Justin Bieber on YouTube – the voice was awful. The things they can do in the studio nowadays to make people sound good…

  8. Crys says:

    There's a great parody on YouTube of one of her songs. I can't stand her songs!

  9. I HATE KESHA. Actually I think she technically goes by KE$HA, right? She was on American Idol a few weeks back (yes, I am an Idol junkie) and her song was called “Blah.” And the lyrics…were….”blah blah blah.” Yep. Dead serious.

    She can't sing, I hate her music, and she's dumb as a box of rocks. And I am also so over Justin Bieber. When I was a teen it was the Backstreet Boys who were popular, but even at my worst (writing Nick Carter to ask him to prom) I wasn't making death threats to any female celebrity who was seen with them.

    Kids these days are ridiculous. I thank God my 9-year old hasn't gotten caught up in that yet. (Although she does listen to the Backstreet Boys…totally my fault…)

  10. Dijea says:

    All thse people want to make me barf – except for the old school Metallica.

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

