Keeping Me Humble, Part 2

I have written before about the five-person comedy show in our home when Gary and the kids are together, and how their jokes and commentary keep me more than humble (Keeping Me Humble). This past weekend was no exception.

After admiring my t-shirt, Sunflower asked me, “Can I have that shirt when I am old…like you?”

Later, Gary, the kids, and I went for a walk at a nearby park. Right away Gary and the kids were on the hunt for the perfect walking sticks, and Gary kicked things off by offering me a stick about 2 feet long, saying, “Here, Smirking Cat, I found you a walking stick.”

This, by the way, is “comedy gold”, according to Gary, because I am all of 5’3″ compared to his 6’6″, and therefore quite short by his standards. His comment highly amused the children, who immediately set off to find twigs, sticks, blades of grass, and other miscellaneous miniscule objects to offer up to me as walking sticks, punctuated with, “Oh…is that too big for you?” and then fresh rounds of hysterical laughter.

Along this walking trail are fitness stations, and one station has metal bars a few inches off the ground to do elevated push-ups. Bear took one look at these bars so close to the ground and announced loudly, “Look, Smirking Cat can do pull-ups on those!” I thought Gary was going to run smack into a tree, he started laughing so hard.

Oh, har har. Let’s summarize: according to my comedic family, apparently I am old, short…and, thanks to them, still very, very humble!

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in family, funny, Gary, humor, kids, love. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Keeping Me Humble, Part 2

  1. That is very cute. It just shows how comfortable they are with you.

    My SS is always talking about how “old” I am, and when he was 5 (and I was 19) he would say I looked like I was 100, and then roll around on the floor laughing like he was a comedic genius.

    His new thing is to tell me I am a “hippie” because I was born in the 80's….

  2. Amy says:

    Sounds like you had a great weekend!

    So, glad that you get to enjoy them. That their psycho maternal side of the family hasn't been able to warp the children. Their love for their dad shows thru in these posts about the times you have.

  3. Giggly moments are the best!! In my opinion, the best way to bring a family closer, is laughter 🙂

  4. so cute.. kids really are great aren't they!

  5. Hmm. Yes, it's cute.

    My problem with these kinds of exchanges is that I enjoy them at the time, but my Stepboys' gags often have a mean edge, and when they bring it up again next time, if I'm having a fat day or feeling sad about not having my own kids, hearing “you're an old ugly stinky granny who doesn't count because she doesn't have any children” kind of sucks.

    Hopefully your clan stick to “short”!

  6. Smirking Cat says:

    If it was something that hurt my feelings, I would say something. I find it funny how much they amuse themselves!

  7. Hahaha! Sounds just like my family. I have the opposite though, I'm very tall. For 7 years The Kid (lovingly) called me Sasquatch and would make all sorts of jokes about “the weather up there” etc. Just this past year, his foot size surpassed mine (though I've still got about 6 inches on him), so now I'm “Sasquatch Jr.” I love the little jokes though; they make our family uniquely our own. And that's irreplaceable.
    Thanks for sharing the love.

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

