Facebook Dropout

I’m always about 10 (or 20) steps behind technology, fads, and crazes. I purchased my first cell phone about 2 years ago (still questioning the necessity of that one), and I only fairly recently started a facebook account. The novelty, at first, drew me to searching for old friends, logging in to see who had sent a friend request, and scrolling through the tidbits and gems posted by others.

After a while, though, I couldn’t help but notice that the people I had the most contact with in “real” life were the only ones I was sending messages to on facebook, and the people who went on “be my facebook friend” rampages usually never contacted me again after the friend request. I also discovered that facebook, after that brief “hey, this is kinda cool” initiation, is actually quite useless.

I found myself logging in less and less. Catching up on the latest drivel had lost its luster. (Who has time to not only do so many boring things, but then turn around and post all day long on facebook about it?)

After one too many ex-boyfriends and (the last straw) my brother’s ex-wife sought me out on facebook, I decided it was time to pull the plug. Moving as often as I do, it is pretty difficult to track me down. Facebook helped me discover that I rather prefer it that way.

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in boring stuff, facebook, social networks. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Facebook Dropout

  1. Amie says:

    I opened up a Facebook once, and didn't even finish setting up before I decided that I didn't want it. Did you notice that it never acually lets you delete your account??

    Weird!

  2. That's basically how my Uncle felt about it, and sadly I didn't even notice he had jumped ship for about a month.

  3. I only get on about once a week. I like it because it allows my friends and I to plan group outings sometimes. I reconnected with some friends from high school, and now we get together a lot more often.

    Some people I have to unfriend, they just get so annoying… I don't want to see a post every hour about how your boyfriend dumped you, your life is over, and you can't stop crying. Maybe he dumped you because you are pathetic.

  4. furiousBall says:

    I've enjoyed facebook quite a bit. The ex's thing doesn't bother me (or my gf), but hey it's all about choice 🙂

  5. i won't lie.. i like me some facebook.. it's actually pretty cool way to keep in touch with old friends.. i think so anyhow…

  6. Amy says:

    I use mine to keep up with a bunch of my cousins. We all live pretty far apart now and it's been great for that.

  7. Crys says:

    I've worked hard to try and block any troublemakers and to make my profile as private as possible. My work requires me to know the ins and out of Facebook, but before it was my job I too was not a fan.

  8. Dijea says:

    I enjoy mine, but it can suck you in.

  9. Facebook=evil. All those used-to-be friends are on limited profile and can't see anything (that's about 70 percent of the people!); I use it only to keep up with far-away family. The drama it causes in everyday life is totally not worth it.

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

