Not-so-Despicable Movie

No spoilers, no endless movie review, just a note that Despicable Me is well worth the price of a ticket. It was a bit slow to get moving, but once it does, it is funny, sweet, touching, and entertaining.

Gary, the kids, and I took up almost an entire row of the theater, and all of us enjoyed the movie. I thought Gary was going to fall out of his seat laughing during the “I said dart gun” scene, and the kids repeated their favorite lines all weekend. I watched the movie over the top of tousled blonde curls, since Dove ended up in my lap and sat still about as well as a Mexican jumping bean.

Overall, 6 thumbs up (one thumb for each of us!)

P.S. Another movie well worth watching is Inception.

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in Despicable Me, Inception, kids, movies, weekend. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Not-so-Despicable Movie

  1. I agree we took the son and really enjoyed it. I think both hubbs and I had tears in our eyes at the end. It was slow in the beginning but turned out to be a great movie. Sounds like you had fun!

  2. phairhead says:

    I loved Inception!

  3. ChapmansRus says:

    Thanks for the review! We need to get out & see BOTH movies! My 15 year old even wants to see Despicable Me 🙂 Maybe we'll do that this week as one of our staying cool adventures… our A/C is broken, we're trying to be creative!

  4. isn't it cute when a grown man almost dies laughing at a cartoon????

    after reading this i will so be watching.. thought it looked good.. now i know!!!

    inception… OH YEA BABY!!! it sooooo rocked!

  5. Smirking Cat says:

    Inception was one of the best movies I've seen in a very long time.

  6. Crys says:

    Now I have to go watch that! And I heard the same thing about Inception. 🙂

  7. Agreed! We took The Kid to see Despicable Me – at his request! We don't have TV so I had no idea what it was about (hadn't seen any previews). We ALL loved it…even the 13 yo boy! I've highly recommended it to all my friends.
    So glad your family got to see it together.
    And, thanks for the great advice on my post. We will definitely talk to The Kid about his mom's reaction to the new baby. I hadn't even thought of that, but her trashing this experience for him is one of my biggest fears. I'm sure confronting it head on will help alleviate my stress. She is planning on having kids with her new husband after they marry so I'd like to think she'd bite her tongue, but I know better. You can't expect rationality from crazy.

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

