Hockey Cat

Less than two weeks to the regular season opening game! I am excited but also a bit sad. My buddy during hockey games, Tweetie, won’t be with me this year. He liked to climb into my lap as I settled in for a game, tucking himself in as only a cat can, and purr like mad. I liked to think this wasn’t simply because I was wrapped in my fuzzy Tampa Bay Lightning blanket, and he just liked to sit on it.

All would go well until my team started screwing up, which generally wouldn’t take long. I would take a break from petting Tweetie to yell at the TV in frustration, and Tweetie would display his distaste by casting me a disgusted glower, rising indignantly to his feet with the threat to leave, while I sputtered, “I’m sorry, Tweetie. I’m sorry! Sit back down. I won’t do that again.”

He would tuck his tail around his body, shoot me a warning look just before he closed his eyes again, and settle back onto my lap to continue his 20-hour nap.

Until the Lightning screwed up again. It is like a reflex; I truly can’t help it. I would yell at the TV again, toss my arms into the air, and Tweetie would have to stand up haughtily and repeat the process. If this happened too many times, he would finally huff off to his blanket, and I swear he was shaking his head, muttering profanities, and making rude gestures with his paw.

I will miss him. A lot.

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in cats, hockey, love, Tweetie. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Hockey Cat

  1. furiousBall says:

    well, you guys did get Simon Gagne. He played well for us in the orange n' black. I hope to see Simon in lots of highlights this year (although hopefully not too many against my Flyers!)

  2. Amy says:

    Hopefully you won't have to yell at the TV much this season. 😉

  3. Firecracker says:

    Love hockey myself… only its GO PENS!!

  4. Crys says:

    It's good to know I'm not the only one who talks to the TV at my sports teams 🙂 and that my cat isn't the only one who thinks that their owner is nutso for doing it.

  5. kimberlina says:

    😦 missing a loved feline is rough. sometimes when yammie comes around the corner i'll think it's thomas.

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

