Why Is It…?

…that after tossing and turning all night, I finally, finally get deliriously comfortable five minutes before the alarm goes off?

…that when I deliver priceless gems like “Turn off the lights, flush the toilet, say thank-you” to the kids, it has a life span of nary a split second, but if I say something stupid, their memories seize onto it like Super Glue for all of eternity?

…that my cats howl and whine for breakfast when there is still food in the bowl from dinner?

…that a work day can feel like eternity, but a Saturday or Sunday whips by in the blink of an eye?

…that the smaller the town, the bigger the egos that dwell there?

…that when things are going well, we are supposed to thank God and sing praises, but when things are going bad, we aren’t supposed to hold God accountable? (And where do I find a gig where I get credit for everything positive but am off the hook for everything negative?)

…that damn near everything that is good for me tastes like crap?

…that the more money someone makes at work, the less it seems they actually do or know?

…that I only run into people I know when I haven’t combed my hair or am dressed like I let the kids choose my outfit in the dark?

…that being broke gives me the insatiable urge to go shopping?

…that the car’s gas tank only hits “E” when I am in a hurry and am running late for work?

…that I could think of a million questions until I actually started to type this post?

*”Why?” image courtesy of Jerry Reynolds Photography*

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in questions, why. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Why Is It…?

  1. So true, why does it always work out like that? I too want to get credit for all good things, but not be held accountable for the bad stuff.

  2. I do bdelieve that your readers will need more clarification on the “stupid” thing you said. What exactly was it again?

  3. Smirking Cat says:

    Nice try, Gary! I don't, in fact, say stupid things terribly often, as you know (ahem), so you should be able to remember anything stupid I say without any prompting from me. 🙂

  4. kittywampus says:

    A few random comments:

    I've been having the “finally comfortable 10 minutes before the alarm” thing too. Infuriating!

    Kids are always looking to catch us out. It's ammo! They will use it!

    Cats are complete opportunists.

    Time turns Elastic. (That's a Phish song, and very cool to boot.)

    Re: holding God accountable. Please let me know if you figure out his gig. I could surely use it!

    Not everything good for you tastes like crap. Behold the perfectly ripened late summer tomato. Behold dark chocolate.

    I'm going back to my dark chocolate now. Yum.

    Sungold (at Kittywampus)

  5. kimberlina says:

    …that the car's gas tank only hits “E” when I am in a hurry and am running late for work?

    ALWAYS.

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

