Opening Night

Did you really think the Lightning would play their first regular season game this week, and I wouldn’t write about hockey?

What can be said about their opening night? Well, the Lightning are nothing if not consistent. Consistently sucking is not exactly what I was hoping for, though.

During the first period, I was pleasantly surprised. I had to peer closer at the players’ jerseys to ensure that they were, indeed, my horrible team. Tampa took the lead and held it, keeping the Thrashers from scoring at all.

The second and third periods were classic Lightning, however. Passing to the thin air, fumbling around like they never saw a puck before, penalty after penalty. Okay, I give them a break for one outrageous penalty called on a Lightning player who was practically in a headlock by a Thrashers player yet was still called out for “interference”. What the hell was he interfering with? The Thrashers ability to pummel his face?

The Lightning clung to their lead and ended up winning, 5-3. Of course I’m happy they won, but how in blazing hell do you blow a 4-0 lead? Just part of the Lightning’s charm, I suppose.

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in hockey, Tampa Bay Lightning. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Opening Night

  1. Amy says:

    At least they won?

    They just wanna give you a good show. Sort of like my Rangers who won the first 2 games of the division series to throw away the next 2 and force a game 5. It's all part of their diabolical plan to give the fans a heart attack.

  2. Smirking Cat says:

    Games like that definitely do funny things to my blood pressure!

  3. kimberlina says:

    so far they're doing well! 😀 i keep in touch w/ their games via my friend MAt. apparently we'll be going to a game at some point… hellooOOOo cotton candy!

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

