What I Didn’t Know

Many moons ago, I received an urgent and angst-filled email from Gary’s ex, warning me that I “only know half the story” and that there are countless, unimaginable horrors I don’t know yet about Gary. Given the source, I naturally paid rapt and devout attention (and by “rapt and devout attention”, I mean snickering and brushing the hogwash into the already overflowing bin of garbage).

To date, Gary has yet to morph into a hairy beast in the full moon, reveal his home planet, grow a second head, divulge where long-missing bodies are buried, construct crop circles in the front yard, don women’s underwear, or – shudder- register as a Republican.

However, the warning was dead-on in some ways. There are things I did not, at that time years ago, know about Gary yet.

I didn’t know that when I hurt my back and couldn’t move for two solid weeks, Gary would take care of me around the clock without once complaining.

I didn’t know that Gary can make up silly love songs on the spot…that actually rhyme!

I didn’t know that watching him play and interact with the kids could melt what I always considered my hard-ass heart.

I didn’t know that just the sound of his voice would be so comforting on a hard day.

I didn’t know that loving my best friend would color my entire world a brighter color.

I didn’t know I would someday feel so comfortable with him that I share damn near every silly, scrambled thought that rushes through my skull.

I didn’t know that Gary had infinite patience for listening to every silly, scrambled thought that rushes through my skull!

I didn’t know the strength he has in his heart to keep fighting for and with his kids.

I didn’t know a man existed who would treat me like a queen yet stand by my side as my partner and my equal.

I didn’t know that ultimately, I couldn’t imagine my life without him.

So, yes, there actually were things I did not know about Gary. Thank you for the heads-up…because I truly enjoy discovering each and every one.

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in Gary, lies, love. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to What I Didn’t Know

  1. Amy says:

    How sweet! You're a lucky woman.

  2. actually think i may have just fallen for gary a wee bit.. lol

    just kidding…!!!

    but he DOES sound pretty great!! Go you!!
    have a wonderful weekend!!!!!!!

  3. kelly says:

    Living life well…the greatest revenge. It must just kill her.

  4. Crys says:

    I think Gary sounds fabulous. You are a lucky lady!

  5. macocha says:

    awww…glad you got to find out all the true stuff!

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

