Tilt-a-Whirl and Funnel Cake

When Gary and I picked up the kids on Friday evening, we told them we had a surprise for them.  One of the first guesses was “You got another cat!”  Ummm, no.  The two we have are bad enough without adding an accomplice to the mix. 

The surprise was a trip to the fair, which we have missed at least the last 2 years in a row.  It was a fun night.  We hit the rides first, and even though I gave myself a lecture about my motion sickness not playing well with the Tilt-a-Whirl, I got on it anyway…and promptly felt ill.  Very ill. 

I rode the Scrambler anyway with Sunflower, who enjoyed flying across the seat and smashing into me, but nothing beat my hair somehow getting caught in the crease of the seat behind me.  I thought Sunflower was going to fall out of the ride, laughing and shrieking, “Her hair is caught in the door!”, waiting expectantly for tufts of my hair to rip out of my scalp.

We took a pit stop for fair food: chicken and steak kabobs, pizza for the kids, and a funnel cake, of which Dove’s favorite part was indisputably the powdered sugar.  I think she would eat it by the spoonful if we let her. 

Gary pointed out a game he thought Dove would like while the older kids rode another ride, so I took her over to try her hand at tossing ping-pong balls into small glass bowls to win a fish.  The man running the game booth kept sneaking more balls into her basket when she started to run out, so I think she ended up tossing roughly 200 balls instead of just 6.

At the end of the night, four very worn-out and exhausted kids clutching the toys they won at the fair sleepily walked back to the car with us.  I didn’t even think about getting up early the next morning to go running. 

I have to be honest, I wasn’t too keen on the idea of going to the fair.  It was one of those “I’ll just go for the kids” kind of things at first, but I ended up truly enjoying myself and having a great night.  I’m glad we went, and I’m glad the kids had so much fun.

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in fair, kids, weekend. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tilt-a-Whirl and Funnel Cake

  1. oh it sounds marvelous though.. especially watching the sheer delight on the kids' face!!

  2. Amy says:

    Sounds like a great time! Glad you gave in and went “for the kids” LOL ; )

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

