A Real Thanksgiving

Thanksgiving sneaked up on me as my favorite holiday.  It used to be little more than a day off school or work, and really, who can find any fault with a holiday noted for copious consumption of pumpkin pie (preferably with a mountain of whipped cream on top)?  Beyond that, though, the entire point of the day was largely lost on me.

Until a few years ago.  When Gary came back home right before Thanksgiving, the holiday rocketed up the charts to my top spot.  Watching him play in the backyard with the kids, after being separated for so long, clinched it.

I still have a way to go.  Anyone who spends much time with me will vouch for the fact that I often forget all I have in my life and may be known occasionally to complain (who, me?) 

A few days ago, I read some of my old blog posts and came across one where I wrote that as long as Gary and I have each other, we have a hell of a lot.  We are as guilty as anyone for forgetting that, for losing sight of the beautiful relationships we have with each other, with the kids, the moments we share because we are willing to fight for what is right and what we cherish. 

This year I want to make it a real Thanksgiving.  It’s not about turkey, football, eating until you can’t move without hydraulic equipment to assist, not even about pumpkin pie or whipped cream (no, really).  I want to take note of everything and everyone for which I am thankful and hold that in my heart instead of losing sight of it all so easily. 

Being thankful isn’t a bunch of flowery words on a glittery Hallmark card.  It’s respecting and appreciating those I count as my friends and family and loved ones.  It’s opening my eyes to what is right in front of me…and then keeping them open.

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in family, love, thankful, Thanksgiving. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Real Thanksgiving

  1. phairhead says:

    Have a great holiday, SC!

  2. ModernMom says:

    Just had to comment. This is a beautiful post. All marriages have their ups and downs and it is so true that we have to really take a look at our lives and realize all that we have to be thankful for.
    I'm Canadian, but still want to wish you the BEST Thanksgiving!

  3. Amy says:

    Great post!

    Happy Thanksgiving

  4. Living life says:

    Hi Smirking Cat and Happy Holidays to you and your family! I have a very valid question for you that has nothing to do with the above post, but everything to do with our neck of the woods. I value your opinion, which is why I am asking. We are having our first birthday party here at our home for my 11 year old step daughter. We are so excited. My question is, do you think it is shallow or unfair of us to ask her to leave her gifts here for her own personal use, where they will be stored safely in her room. She is here once a week and every other weekend. We know that in the past her gifts have gone to Moms use and this makes us furious. We thought this was really the only way to be sure this does not happen again and that possibly we can begin creating a larger piece of her in our home by filling her own space with her things. Thanks for your time and all your great posts. Much love, Living Life

  5. Smirking Cat says:

    Hi, Living Life. Unfortunately we deal with a similar situation: clothing, shoes, and toys that the children's father and/or I have bought have ended up thrown away, deliberately destroyed, or dropped at Goodwill when the kids took the items with them out of our house. It's shameful that so-called adults will destroy a child's belongings just to please their selfish selves, but it's something that poor excuses of people are more than willing to do.

    To protect the kids and their belongings, there is nothing wrong with keeping certain items at your house. We explained clearly to the kids that it's not a punishment to them and specifically why the items stay at our house: to make sure they still have the items to enjoy, instead of letting the items be destroyed by someone else who has consistently and repeatedly thrown away or ruined their belongings in the past. It's not the way we want it to be; we have never and would never destroy or throw away the kids' clothing or toys from their other household, but we don't receive the same courtesy from others, so we do what we have to do to protect the kids from losing any more of their belongings at the hands of malicious individuals.

  6. Living life says:

    Thank you so much SM. We put it across to her that we would just like for her to have her own things here in her space and she was glad to know and happy to keep it here.

    I am sorry for the actions the hateful person does in yours and the childrens lives. I am grateful to have common ground with all of you though. I find comfort in the fact that I am not alone in defeating the dark forces of evil out here! It keeps me sane. Happy Holidays! x

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

