Two Hours and Fifteen Minutes

In two hours and fifteen minutes, the kids will be home for their holiday break with us. For months, they have been flipping the page of our kitchen calendar to December, where I have the days marked that they will be spending with us.

About a dozen times, I have heard: “Look, Daddy! We have ten whole days with you!” as the kids point to the days on the calendar.

I can tell Gary is excited too. The Christmas tree and decorations went up just before the kids arrived last weekend, and when I was getting ready for work today, he had already cleaned the house, had pulled out our stash of coupons, and was busy making the grocery list.

Weekends with the kids are great, but it is never enough for them, and I don’t blame them. Gary and the kids were used to day-to-day activities with each other, not a quick hello/good-bye weekend that ends too abruptly. It never gets easier to see the tears as the time to leave creeps closer.

But I’m not going to think about that for now. Soon the kids will be home, the cats will be safely hidden under the bed, the house will be a whirlwind of activity and noise, and Gary and the kids will be together. That is what I will think about.

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in holidays, kids, love. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Two Hours and Fifteen Minutes

  1. and have tons of fun!!!!

    have a lovely wkend!!

  2. Amy says:

    10 Days together of activity and never ending kitchen visits.

    You'll have a blast!

  3. Dijea says:

    I'm so excited for you. Have a great time!

  4. ChapmansRus says:

    Enjoy it!! Praying your time is blessed!!

  5. Just Me :) says:

    Makes for a perfect Christmas in my book 🙂 Hope you guys have a great time.

  6. kelly says:

    Praying or NOTHING but fun, joy and peace during those 10 days!!!! (peace from interruption of any sort by CRAZY.)

  7. Thrilled for your family! Uninterrupted time with Dad is one of my ss's favorite things. I hope you all have the happiest Christmas and absolutely bathe in the love that fills your home.
    x

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

