Christmas Shopping

I am one of those people that other people love to hate when it comes to Christmas. I am a planner, a list-maker, and I start Christmas shopping sometime in September or October at the latest, with a typed-up list people to shop for, my budget, gift ideas, and even neat little checkboxes to mark people off as I finish their list.

Sick yet? Oh, it gets better! I even make a list of stocking stuffers and a countdown to-do list (Christmas cards, get the cash for stockings, wrapping, etc.)

Don’t hate me because I am organized (typed in an exotic accent while I toss my luxuriant hair just like the old Pantene commercials).

The problem with wrapping up my Christmas shopping so early, is that as Christmas approaches, I find last-minute items to add to everyone’s stash. (Refer back to the words “my budget” to recall why this is a problem.) Or, just as likely, items for me. And then there’s the little issue with my impatience.

I put a lot of thought into Gary’s and the kids’ Christmas presents. I don’t like the “gimme-gimme-gimme” attitude that Christmas has been overrun with in our society, but I would be lying if I said I didn’t get a thrill from a big smile or a “Whoa!” when someone opens a gift from me that they truly love.

Since I did my shopping so early, I have been waiting a long time for them to open their gifts! Already this week I’ve been tempted to start tossing presents rapid-fire from under the tree and chanting, “Open! Open! Open!” So far I have restrained myself, because I really want to see the excitement Christmas morning, with the tree lit up, and four sleepy but wound-up kids waiting to see what Santa left for them. And two perpetually hyper, trouble-making cats waiting to chase all that torn-off paper and ribbon.

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in Christmas, gifts, planning, shopping. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Christmas Shopping

  1. Sharon says:

    I hope you and Gary have a wonderful Christmas with the kids! 🙂

  2. oh yea.. I AM SOOO NOT YOU!!
    i believe it finished it all last night.. lol.. very last minute!!!!!

    hope you and yours have a wonderful and merry Christmas!!!!!!!!!

  3. ChapmansRus says:

    I hope the kids are just as excited as you are! I bet they are! Merry Christmas!!

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

