Toddlers, Tiaras, and Tyranny

The closest I have ever come to piddling away time watching a waste-of-airwaves show like Toddlers and Tiaras is catching snippets of it when it is made fun of by other shows. There is nothing cute, sweet, funny, or even the least bit sane about parading about young children decked out in heavy hooker make-up and ridiculous, outlandish outfits and fussy helmet hair. It reeks of a pedophile’s ultimate wet dream.

A clip played on a humor talk show Gary and I were watching, and after the exploited little girl did her expected thing on stage, the camera flipped to her pinched-face mother.

Gary commented that the mothers of these poor kids seem to always be overweight and talk with an exaggerated Southern accent, and it’s like they are forcing their daughters to do something they have never been able to do themselves. I agree. Just like Sunflower being corraled into cheerleading when she has said more than once she wants to try basketball, these kids’ minds, preferences, and individual opinions are shoved aside to feed others’ decayed and pathetic dreams.

Even the brief clip we watched turned my stomach. These little girls are not allowed to be human beings. They are treated like things, objects, possessions. Playing with make-up and wearing frilly dresses is fun for dress-up, but I can’t imagine any child wanting to be a permanent blow-up doll for her parents.

And who the hell is the audience for this crap? Who chooses to pay for tickets to watch little kids with make-up shoveled onto their faces perform circus acts in Gone with the Wind dresses and stiff, robotic movements perfectly choreographed by their twisted parents? Who is sick enough to find anything attractive or positive about kids being used to rabidly chase down their selfish parents’ wishes and dreams?

I can’t imagine looking at Dove or Sunflower and thinking, “You know what I’d like to do? Force these two to enter a beauty pageant!”

They don’t need judges, a stage, a scoring card, or the scrutiny of people with no lives to tell them if they are okay or not. I hope, for that matter, they learn to never depend on the critical eye of others, and learn to trust themselves, be true to themselves, to be exactly who they are and never listen to “Girls are this” or “Girls don’t do that”.

I hope the same for the boys: that they grow into their own unique selves and learn to value the judgment of others for what it typically is: useless and shallow.

Just like Toddlers and Tiaras.

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in child abuse, kids, sick parents, Toddlers and Tiaras. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Toddlers, Tiaras, and Tyranny

  1. Courtney says:

    I couldn't agree more. I hate that show and all it stands for. A pedophile's wet dream indeed.

  2. kittywampus says:

    I am completely repelled by these pageants. A former student of mine took part in them, and she said it was a fun experience for her. I guess that is her experience, and I won't deny it. But she didn't change my basic belief that they are creepy and send girls the wrong message.

    Sociological Images recently showed equally creepy pictures from French Vogue, as well as the use of cone bras (!!??) on Toddlers and Tiaras. Ugh.

  3. Smirking Cat says:

    I agree. There is nothing remotely beautiful about these disgusting pageants. It's bad enough grown women are willing to be pawns of society and subject themselves to a score card; it's nothing but abuse when adults force children into it.

  4. Anonymous says:

    I dont want to name names but a few of these kids look completly SILLY doing this and are not in any way beautiful. I am embarased for this girl. She s pigeon toed and not what you would call a good example for being beautiful even though the mother thinks she is beautiful and talented. They should take her off of the show. These people are sick in a way that they parade children around. Let them be children and not manequins.

  5. Smirking Cat says:

    I would not feel embarrassed for any child on the show, since none of them are old enough to be there on their own accord. I'm embarrassed for any parent who needs a dress-up doll for a child because of their own pathetic lives, but even more so, I am concerned for the child and what this does to their self-esteem, their attitudes about the role looks play in their lives, how they will ever develop self-esteem based on anything but what they look like, and the horrifying message pounded into their brains at such a young age: who you are, what you think, doesn't matter at all, just smile and wave and please everyone else.

  6. oh this show PISSES me off to no end.. if i even see a commercial for it, i have to turn the channel… it's so wrong… so, so wrong!

  7. Crys says:

    I can't watch kiddie pageants as it makes me squirm. I think the only time i watched anything close to is was when Kathy Griffin helped judge one on her show.

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

