Definitely Not Their Mother

“You’re not their mother!”

I find myself thinking about what the word “Mother” has come to mean for the kids, anyway.
When a mother is caring, loving, protective, and sincere, the word “Mother” is a tender, beautiful word. But mothers have not always just stepped out of a Hallmark greeting card. Some mothers, truthfully, sadly, are a disgrace to the term.

If a mother lies to her children as regularly and easily as she breathes…

If a mother only has room in her dessicated heart for her greed…
If a mother is willing to viciously hurt her children as long as she gains from their pain…

If a mother forces her children to lie for her, to cover her own ample ass…

If a mother is willing to manipulate, use, and shove her children around like game pieces on a board…

If a mother can only serve as an example of what NOT to do or be as a parent…

If a mother craves the attention and praise of being a mommy but not a lick of the responsibility or self-sacrifice that performing the role properly entails…If a mother insults and belittles the children to keep them docile and agreeable to her demands…
If a mother’s only concern for the children is how they can serve her, fulfill her needs, and be useful to her……then I have to wonder: why the hell would I want those children to associate the word “Mother” with me, anyway?If, to the kids, I am someone they can trust, love, care about; someone they know will not lie to them; someone who places them first; someone who shares a genuine, honest affection with them; someone who respects them; someone who values them as individuals and human beings; someone willing to sacrifice for their well-being; someone who may not be perfect but tries damn hard to do what is best for them; someone who loves them without strings attached and fine print; then I completely agree:

I am proudly, wonderfully, gratefully, definitely not their “Mother”.

When you have bastardized, slandered, and filthed the title…why don’t you just go ahead and keep it?

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in children deserve better, malicious mothers, mothers, parenting, stepmothers. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Definitely Not Their Mother

  1. Amy says:

    If that's the type of behavior that those kids associate with the word “mother”, I wouldn't want anything to do with it either. You're oh so much more than just a word to them.

  2. lamadrastra says:

    Brutal. Those kiddos are lucky to have you.

  3. Anonymous says:

    Thank you for posting this! I know exactly how you feel and it's nice to know I'm not alone! I feel the exact same way about my bonus son's mom. It was his birthday this weekend and we finally had him (first time in his 11 years) and she told me that I should give him a kiss at his birth time since I am the “substitute” this weekend! I am not a substitute mother, my bonus son and I have an amazing relationship that stands alone without employing terms such as “step-mother” or “substitute”. I can only hope through my example with my own son and relationship with my bonus son that he will learn what a mother's love should look and feel like. Women like this are a disgrace to motherhood!

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

