Happy Mother’s Day…to All Mothers

At the gym, a woman came up to me and told me she saw me, Gary, and the kids riding bikes and walking near the gym the other day.  She said she thought all of us together looked so sweet, and she wanted a family like that someday.  She is very young, just barely broken into her 20’s, and she admitted she is not ready for kids…yet!

When I told her the kids are my stepchildren, she leaped in quickly to interrupt.  Her mother is a stepmother, and she said she didn’t appreciate everything her stepmother did for her until now that she is an adult.

I can relate to that.  My mother juggled four active, independent kids and never lost one of us, threw one of us off a cliff, or allowed severe bodily harm to come to any of us, even though at times she must have been tempted to inflict it herself, and it wasn’t until I tried my hand at keeping an eye on four kids at one time that I truly appreciated Mom’s efforts (and the eyes in the back of her head).

So, Happy Mother’s Day today to all the mothers out there…nah, let me rephrase that.  Happy Mother’s Day to all the genuine mothers out there, since giving birth doesn’t necessarily elevate one to a mother in heart and spirit, and being a mother in heart and spirit does not necessarily entail giving birth. 
No matter how you came into the mother role, cheers, and have a great day!
About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in kids, Mother's Day, stepmoms. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy Mother’s Day…to All Mothers

  1. Amy says:

    Happy Mothers Day to you too! You're more of a mom to your children than that ED that ignores and neglects them.

    Hope you have a GREAT day!

  2. Smirking Cat says:

    Thank you! Happy Mother's Day to you too.

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

