Candle

Last night Gary and I turned off the TV, stashed our cell phones, and curled up on the bed with a lone candle lighting the room.  We joked around and talked about anything that popped into our heads: horror movies, books, the kids, trouble we got into growing up (Gary seems to have way more stories like this than I do, by the way).

I know some people consider a night out, dancing, partying, crowds and noise, a good time.  I’ve never particularly cared for that scene.  Last night, tucked up in a candle-lit room and talking, was a treat I really treasured.  Bringing the world down to just us, just enjoying each other, was nice. 

All we needed to top it off was a nice, gentle rainstorm.  Oh, and maybe some wine.  I’ll keep that in mind for next time.

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in love, simplicity. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Candle

  1. Amy says:

    I'm well past the point of enjoying the party scene too.

    Sounds like a lovely night!

  2. Crys says:

    That does sound like a lovely night! I'll have to wait for a non-Giants game day to see if I can try that out. It's hard to convince him to turn the TC off if the Giants are on … unless they're getting spanked 🙂

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

