Just Put It in a Ponytail

Yesterday the kids arrived at home for their summer break week with their daddy.  Gary picked them up in Hickville, and he called me on their way home and put me on speaker phone.  The kids were so excited and wound up, all I could hear was a lot of laughing, screaming, yelling out to me, and then more laughing.  Gary and I joked that we couldn’t quite tell if they were excited or not.

Dove arrived with her hair in a ponytail, which instantly struck me as odd because it is rare for anyone but Gary and me to really give a shit about her hair.  It’s typically uncombed and tangled when she arrives.  When I took out the ponytail holder, I found out exactly why her hair had been shoved back into a ponytail holder: her hair was dry and brittle as straw, matted, tangled, and had a strange red substance gunked up in part of it, sticky and dried, clamping her hair together like glue.

Why bother washing out the red substance or using a comb, shampoo, or conditioner, when you can get just whip out a handy ponytail holder and shove the problem out of sight?

It is precisely the same concept, really, that Crow applies to the children themselves, so I am not surprised by her callous “whatever” attitude.  No matter how often she treats the kids like crap, though, I can’t bring myself to understand how she can stand herself for doing it.
About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in bad mothers, child abuse, mother fail, neglect, pathetic assholes, poor parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Just Put It in a Ponytail

  1. Amy says:

    Wouldn't it have been easier to … Oh, I don't know… Wash her hair? Oh wait! That takes actual effort to do something right? (yes, sarcasm was intended). I can never understand how people can do a child like that. When we get my grandson, the first thing I always have to do is throw him in the bath. He always comes little boy dirty. Too much effort to wash his face and hands and change his clothes before throwing him in the car for a 6 hour drive.

    How can anyone like that consider themselves a parent?

  2. wow
    just wow..
    knowing a simple wash and comb through woulda done wonders…
    something so simple yet it breaks my heart…

  3. Ala can stand to treat her children like crap because she doesn't look at them as living, feeling beings. They are pawns. Nothing more.

    'course, I'm not telling you anything you don't already know. I can relate with your frustration.

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

