Puss in Boots

When a new kids’ movie comes out, I usually hope the kids somehow miraculously never saw the previews so that I won’t have to go sit through it.  (Chipmunks?  Spy Kids? Smurfs?  Spare me.)  But the first time I saw a preview for Puss in Boots, I was instantly and hopelessly hooked.

Okay, it’s a no-brainer.  I’m a certified cat person.  This is a movie about a cat…and not only about a cat, but about a fuzzy orange cat, full of swagger, ego, and attitude, just like my Tweetie.  What’s not to love?  The preview clip of Puss in Boots lapping milk from a shot glass in a bar left me in a babbling, baby-talking puddle on the floor, cooing about how damn cute he was. 

So off we went to the theater.  Dove in particular shares my affection for cats, and she especially loved Tweetie, so I hoped she and the other kids would like the movie. 

I started giggling as soon as the movie started. A cat wearing huge, chunky boots and walking upright with a sword embellishing his fuzzy hip amused me.

But beyond the cute factor, and beyond the cat factor, this truly was a good movie.  I loved the message of friendship and honor, and as Puss in Boots says, “It’s never too late to do the right thing.”

Whether you find Puss in Boots to be so cute you want to rub his belly or not, I still recommend this movie.  Granted, this is coming from a crazy cat lady, but I laughed throughout the movie and really enjoyed it.  The kids and I repeated lines from the movie the rest of the weekend.
Just in case I didn’t convince you, I leave you with this:

Resist…if you dare!

P.S.  I wonder…how many bizarre and raunchy search terms will I now see leading visitors to my blog now that I have used the word “puss” in a blog post?

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in cats, kids, movies, Puss in Boots. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Puss in Boots

  1. Just Me :) says:

    The kids and I saw it last weekend and loved it!

  2. Nana says:

    PUSS HAS BIG EYES…EHEH

  3. Anonymous says:

    “Fear me…. If you dare!”

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

