Two Trees

Gary is the luckiest man in the world: I woke him up this morning with a tricked-out, ultra-fabulous, customized version of “Happy Birthday” like he has never heard before (and likely never wishes to hear again).  He returned the favor by swearing on the Bible that I promised certain carnal favors as birthday offerings.

So, moving on…what the heck does this picture of trees have to do with Gary’s birthday, anyway?  Glad you asked.  There is a story behind this picture, and Gary’s birthday seems like the perfect time to share it.

When Gary and I first saw these trees at a park, I wouldn’t have really noticed them if he hadn’t pointed out something significant about them.  At the roots of these trees, a sink hole had opened up, causing the trees to topple.  What stopped the trees from collapsing altogether is how they fell into each other and now hold each other up.  Gary commented on how they leaned against each other and what the odds were that they would fall just like that, perfectly in line to catch each other and support each other to keep the other one from falling down.

When he put it that way, I had to take a picture of the trees.  Call me sappy, call me overly sentimental, but these two trees reminded me of Gary and me.  When we first met, we were both getting ready to crash and burn, worn out by noxious relationships and septic individuals with rotted tumors where their hearts and brains should be.  Yet instead of falling to the ground, we fell perfectly and directly into each other.  To this day, we still hold each other up, taking turns leaning or holding, and we are still standing, together.

I love this picture.  I love how Gary noticed the trees and how they held each other up.  I may frame it and hang it in our living room.  To others, it may just be a picture of trees.  To me, it’s lovely.

Gary, if you are lucky, I will not have time today to craft any more personalized birthday songs and/or smooth dance moves.  But whether I sing again or not, I will always have time to tell you how much I love you and how grateful I am that we found each other. 

Happy birthday!

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in birthday, Gary, love, singing, support, symbolism, trees. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Two Trees

  1. Amy says:

    What a beautiful post.

    Happy Birthday Gary!

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

