Happy Valentine’s Day

As a rule, I have always believed Valentine’s Day to be an artificial and money-grubbing farce of a holiday, and I still do.  Yet this year, I really wanted to write something for Gary.

We have now been together for five and a half years.  During that time, we have had only rare and scattered moments of absolute peace, since Gary finding real love with a real woman after Crow decided her family wasn’t worth fighting for did not sit well with a raging failure from his past.  Evidentally, the logic appears to go, behaving like a massive bitch will surely make him regret getting back up and moving on to a better woman…yeah, how is that working out?

Through it all, we manage to find ways to bring our world back down to just the two of us.  He has joked with me that I am crazy for staying for the loony ride, but the bottom line is, my love for Gary will always be stronger than any hate thrown at him and me by weak people.

Gary is one of the few genuinely good people I know, someone who sincerely cares for other people and will do what is right, not what is popular or easy.  His kindness has been abused by others, but that is purely a reflection on their own tainted soul, not his.  I hope it never stops him from being exactly who he is: kind, gentle, caring, and loving.

Gary is also the only person I know who can infuriate me completely and totally, yet also leave me simultaneously trying hard not to laugh at whatever he is doing or saying at the moment.  He is quick with smartass comments, and if he discovers he is plucking my nerve, he will latch on like a bulldog and not let it go until I am practically foaming at the mouth and start calling him by his full name through grit teeth (which is when he knows he is in trouble, yet this fact simply encourages him to keep at it!)

My favorite moments with him are walking around garden centers, hand-in-hand; laying in bed on a lazy morning; going for walks; exchanging rapid-fire jokes until I can barely talk from laughing; listening to his made-up songs; and watching him get into character as he plays Barbie or superheroes with the kids.

I love the sound of his laugh, loud and booming, unmistakable.  I love his voice on the phone when I have to travel for work.  I love the funny texts he sends me throughout the day.  I love the way he scolds me for not wearing a coat on a cold morning.  I love his back rubs and the way he strokes my hair when we are sitting together.  I love listening to him watch football, which is something you simply must experience to understand exactly what I am talking about!

I am glad he is in my life, and I am grateful we share a future with so much left to do and to look forward to together.  Happy Valentine’s Day!

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in best friend, Gary, love, Valentine's Day. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Happy Valentine’s Day

  1. Lucky13 says:

    Happy Valentine's Day to you both!

  2. Amy says:

    You're very lucky to have found each other. Hold tight and always make time to keep your relationship strong.

    Can't wait for the day that the kids either grow up and move out or grow up and move in with y'all.

  3. lucky13 says:

    What happened to your feb. 21 post??? Can you just email me what you wrote, your writing gives me solace!!!

  4. Smirking Cat says:

    Lucky13, sometimes I write a post and then just decide it wasn't my best writing, or I just don't like the post and decide to remove it. What is your email address?

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

