Unplugged

Typically, my obessive-compulsive, Type-A personality takes over even on weekends, with shrill alarm clocks, lengthy to-do lists, and a frantic pace, checking things off as I go.  This past weekend, though, I didn’t even set the alarm.  Gary and I stayed in bed until we finally just got too hungry to lounge in bed any longer, and we went to breakfast….errr, okay, lunch…together.

My cell phone stayed on the desk, untouched.  I never even turned on the computer.  Dust collected on my to-do list.

And guess what?  It was one of the best weekends of my entire life.  We laughed, joked around, ignored dishes in the sink, debated who would win on Deadliest Warrior, watched silly movies and made fun of them, and basically just did what we wanted to do instead of what we felt like we should do or had to do.

The most laborious and demanding chore I took on this past weekend was nonchalantly painting my nails…oh, and treating Gary to a manicure as well.  (He freely admits the only part he cares about is the hand massage, so we skipped the sparkly polish for him.)

It’s hard to be back at work today, back to the grind, back to a list of tasks, back to a computer screen, back to phones ringing, back to the “need it done now” pace.  Hard to be away from Gary.  It continues to amaze me, given my independent and largely anti-social personality, how much it truly bothers me to be away from him.  I am grateful for it, though…and for him and for this past weekend.

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in fun, love, simplicity, weekend. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Unplugged

  1. ipad poker says:

    This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.

  2. hassan says:

    This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.

  3. Mnika Borua says:

    This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.

  4. This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.

  5. This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.

  6. hassan says:

    This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.

  7. Smirking Cat says:

    Well, the spammers are out today! I accidentally published all the spam instead of deleting them, which is why there are so many deleted comments on this post, in case anyone is wondering.

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

