Sick Day


Lucky me was recently struck with the bubonic plague, the ebola virus, and possibly, though not yet confirmed, whooping cough, all at once, a wild, raging sickness party my exhausted immune system was helpless to resist.  Still, like a dutiful worker bee, I dragged myself to work and entertained myself by coughing hysterically and disturbing my co-workers.

Finally, one day, I waved the white flag of defeat, chugged cough medicine, called in sick, and crawled back into bed with a fistful of cough drops, collapsing into Gary’s arms.

Gary hugged me, patted my back as I coughed, stroked my forehead when the non-stop coughing gave me a grinding headache.  Holding me tight, he told me, “I know you are sick, and I’m sorry you feel bad…but I’m also really glad you’re home today.”

Even through my next coughing fit, I had to smile.  It is a truly special person who makes a sick day feel so happy.
About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in Gary, love, sick, sick day, taking care of me, work. Bookmark the permalink.

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

