Get Moving!

I don’t need Bob Harper, Richard Simmons, or Jane Fonda to tell me that I could maybe, possibly benefit from a bit more exercise…okay, that I could definitely use more exercise!  But just in case I had any doubt left in my brain, I read this:

Sixty percent of American adults don’t get the recommended 30 minutes of physical activity per day.

Only 19% of high school students are physically active more than 20 minutes per day.  (source: Statistic Brain)

Only 42% of boys, and 11% of girls, age 5 to 8 perform enough daily exercise. (source: Livestrong.com)

Children 8 to 18 years old watch 4.5 hours of television a day.

The average child spends SEVEN HOURS per day on all screen media combined (TV, computer, chat, text, DVDs, video games, etc.). (source: KidsHealth.org)

Wow.  And I don’t mean that in an impressed way.  More of a sad, horrified, and disgusted way.

Luckily I am bored to death by damn near everything on TV, don’t want to look at a computer after the work day is done, and have no interest in video games, save for the occasional shooting of zombies.  But I know I have a lot of room to improve, and not just for myself: it is clear that the kids get very little activity, and fair or not, Gary and I have to overcompensate for what happens (or doesn’t happen) at their other home.

I have added an exercise minute ticker to the right side of my blog to publicly commit to more exercise.  I have set a goal for September of 1200 minutes, or 40 minutes per day.  Anyone want to join me in challenging ourselves to more exercise? Or anyone game for just checking up on me, cheering me on, kicking my ass when I am slacking, or even merely mocking my efforts for your own cruel pleasure?  Hopefully not the last option, but all the same, my exercise tracker is now out there for the world to see.  Let’s move!

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in Exercise, fitness, kids, Role model. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Get Moving!

  1. Amy says:

    Good luck! I would love to say I’d join you but I know I couldn’t do 40 minutes a day. My body won’t do it.

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

