Gary’s Other Woman

Recently, I caught Gary red-handed with his arm wrapped lovingly around another woman, leaning close to her and tenderly calling her “baby”.

You may expect that my initial reaction was shock, or anger, or to gasp and stammer in dismay at his blatant betrayal and unfaithfulness.  You may expect that I was horrified and stunned, blinded by tears from the knife twisting in my raw and shattered heart.

How did I handle his wayward ways?

I laughed.  I couldn’t help it.

Gary and I were at an amusement park this past weekend, and as parks tend to do, it got crowded fast.  He had been walking with me, holding my hand, through a packed restaurant when I paused to drop something in the trash.  As I turned to take his hand again, he was looking the other way, reached out for who he thought was me, and put his arm around another short, dark-haired woman who happened to be standing close behind him.

“Come on, baby,” he said to her, pulling her closer, leading her out of the restaurant.  He still was not looking at her, busy navigating the crowd around us.

Amused, I followed close behind.  The surprised woman turned and saw me, seemed to figure out what was happening, and smiled at me like a co-conspirator.  Neither of us said anything about his mistake.

Near the entrance, Gary finally looked down at her, realized he was snuggling up to a woman who was decidedly not me, and dropped his arm quickly, spinning to find me, apologizing to the woman profusely and trying to explain just what in the hell he was doing.

“I thought…who are..hey, you’re not…I wasn’t…”

“I’m going to tell the kids,” I told him.

The woman was a good sport, laughing with me about it, then wandering off to whoever she was actually with that day.  Gary was embarrassed, and he blamed me for not saying something sooner.

What, and ruin all the fun?

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in funny, Gary, humor, love. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gary’s Other Woman

  1. Amy says:

    Love it! That’s a good one. Can’t wait to hear how he gets you back though. 😉

  2. Uh-oh! I hadn’t thought about payback. 🙂

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

